Help us teach children in the Himalayas, India

Country

India

Favourited 585 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 26 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a village school in the Indian Himalayas. We are located 1 km away from the little town of Majkhali at the edge of a pine forest.
    We have 110 children between the ages of 3 and 14. Our director Philipp (he is also the only native English speaker, we have a few local teachers) is a German American educator, who grew up in India.
    We need volunteers who can speak and write English very well, enjoy the mountains and working with children.
    Volunteers live in simple accommodation on campus. They eat lunch with us on the campus. Breakfast and dinner can be had at the little restaurants near the school.
    Snacks, toiletries and other such basic needs can also be purchased locally from the shops in Majkhali town.
    We need a minimum commitment of at least 3 weeks with us to achieve results with the kids.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a place with clean air, amazing views and most of all..wonderful people.
    And we are lucky enough to spend every day with the best of them...the children of the Himalaya!
    With good roads, a pretty fast net connection and decent facilties, we now truly have the best of all worlds!
    Come share and increase our luck and joy!

  • Help

    Help

    We need volunteers who can speak English and enjoy the mountains and working with young children.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Simple accommodation on the campus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours / week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 16759523754e