Looking to show people how to produce wine sustainably in the beautiful area called Pfalz , Germany.

Country

Germany

Favourited 180 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1035

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a small family winery which produces Riesling, Pinot Noir und Riesling Sekt. We produce organic from beginning on and are biodynamic, Demeter certifyed since 2009.
    We are at workaway to show people how to produce wine sustainably. To integrate even more diversity projects in our winery we need some more men and women power. Therefore we are looking for motivated people to help us.
    Our family consists of Gerlinde and Frank John, the two children Dorothea (18) and Sebastian (21) and our cat Lissi.
    As we produce biodynamic wine we also pay attention on very high quality food aswell. Therefore we only buy organic.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Our volunteers will have lots of different kind of work all around the year. In spring our 1000m² organic garden needs most of the attention. We have all kinds of fruit trees as well as a variety of vegetables. In the wineyard our grapes need to be cutted and binded. Also we will distribute our compost and prepare a new one aswell. During summer we pick our variety of berries and cherries. Also in late summer we emty and clean the barrels and bottle our wine from previous year. In the autumn grapes will be harvested and in the garden most of the vegetables as the tomatoes and potatoes will be picked. Before the winter starts there is some work to make everything ready for the cold season. In the celler our harvested and squeezed grapes need some attention aswell. There is always plenty to do at our place.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, French, Italian, Dutch (a little of Spanish)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live at our place in your own room with seperate bath room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we live in the beautiful area called Pfalz (the biggest wineproduction area of Germany and also famous as the Toskany of Germany), there is plenty to do during freetuime. The palatinate forest (together with the Vogues in France it is the biggest forest of Europe) is only 50m behind our house and perfect to be explored by foot or by mountainbiking. Furthermore from spring to autumn each weekend there are nice winefests in one of the many winevillages.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 166966425286