Come and help two sisters on our farm, to create a sustainable lifestyle in North Yorkshire, near Scarborough, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two sisters who grew up on a smallholding in North East England. Our plan for the future is to make a small business from our farm. Our ideas include-BnB, Glam-ping, a cafe for passing cyclists/tourists, pop up restaurant evenings and selling ready meals made with ingredients reared and grown on the farm. At the moment however we are purely a homestead that provides food for ourselves alone. We currently have chickens for meat and eggs, a flock of rare breed Wiltshire horn sheep, a year round vegetable garden, 2 farm dogs and a Welsh Cob pony who is very friendly and available to ride (occasionally we use her for work such as hauling firewood). We are planning on getting goats for meat, milk and cheese. We both have a spirit of adventure and are fully prepared for many failures before success! Our farm house is located in the heart of the beautiful Dalby Forest surrounded by pines with plenty of cycling and walking trails on our doorstep. We are about a 30 minute drive to Scarborough (a seaside town). We try to farm in a wildlife friendly, low intensity way. Some of the work you do for us may be conservation related (such as making hedges). Ultimately we aim to live in the spirit of homesteading - for us self-sustainability, freedom from the rat race and city and harmony with nature are far greater rewards than any profit we may accumulate. Wifi is available in most but not all rooms of the house, we have solar panels for hot water with an immersion heater to use on cloudy days-but don't expect a power shower! All our heating comes from wood burning stoves-the house can get chilly so do bring lots of jumpers.

    Currently we are just looking for workawayers to help from the 27th of September till the 4th of August (flexible dates) to help while our parents are away but within a couple of years we will be looking for year round help.

    This help will ONLY involve parts of the farm not connected to any future business we may run from it and thus workawayer's will not be paid in anything more than food and accommodation. Both of us have part time jobs so sometimes we might be gone for part of the day.
    Eventually, we would love to go on an American road trip as we are obsessed with freedom and the American wilderness. Therefore, it would be awesome to talk to Americans so we can learn more about their country or host other people who have gone or want to go. Ultimately, anyone is invited as long as you are enthusiastic and have good bants.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can learn the value of good food and self sustainability as well as having the opportunity to explore one of England's most beautiful areas. We will definitely be having lots of bonfires over the summer with marshmallows, beer and good tunes; basically all you need in life. If anyone is interested you are welcome to ride Carys (the horse) and Winifred can teach you how to canter and jump if you are confident. Please be aware she is not a professional horse riding teacher, she might tell you to cling on and then send the horse galloping! We may have lambs still around the farm and sometimes we even have one or two that we bottle feed which is always adorable.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the help required would be physical tasks. Examples could be: gardening, repairing fences and outbuildings, firewood gathering, sawing and chopping wood, clearing brambles away from fences and anything else that might need doing at the time. Work related to animals will include walking the dogs, feeding and checking the sheep, looking for eggs, mucking out the horse etc. Winifred (younger sister) will be dealing with most jobs related to the horse, however, if you have an interest in horses then feel free to look after her more. We'd love someone with experience in engineering and plumbing as we are both hopeless at these things but everyone with enthusiasm is welcome! We will always make sure you are well fed and have plenty of free time to explore Dalby Forest as it is incredibly beautiful.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a caravan that sleeps 4, however, there is no working toilet or bathroom, the house is a couple minutes walk away though so shouldn't be to much of a hassle. There are two rooms with double beds and one room with a single bed in the house. Only one of these rooms has WiFi, however, there is a large comfy lounge with WiFi which you are welcome to use whenever you want. Smokers welcome but we usually only smoke in one room so if you don't smoke it shouldn't be a problem. We only have one bath/shower and sometimes the water supply is limited so please be aware that a shower everyday might be unrealistic! That being said, if our water supply is going strong and our solar panel is working then have as many as you want! Our inside dog, Tess, will probably find her way into your rooms at some point so please make sure your comfortable with dogs, obviously if you push her out and say no then she will get the message, shes a good dog just a bit nosy. We will provide all the usual toiletries and provide meals. Anything that you would like us to provide you can always message us to see if its possible for us to get.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is a great base to explore the forest and we would happily give directions to some of our favorite spots. Outside of the forest there is the coast and moorland nearby, plus Scarborough has all the facilities of most towns with a cinema, swimming pool, shops etc. We will happily drive you into town as it is only about a 30 minute drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have our own dogs and free range chickens as well as many other animals. However, as long as your pet is reasonably well behaved we have no problem hosting them.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 5 hours a day 5 days a week

All hatched out by the same hen!
View from the lounge
Carys being awesome as usual
Cub (or Cubbo or Cubboco or Cuboshka) our outdoor sheep dog. Hes the best dog ever but when hes tied up he can become nervous of strangers! Dont worry though he will get used to you quickly and loves everyone when hes free.
The house in winter - as long as the fires are lit its very cosy!
Ruth lighting the perfect camp fire
Winifred having fun on the awesome Carys
Carys posing next a burnt out car we found in the woods
Hill billy swimming pool!
Sometimes our ewes need help feeding their lambs, these two had a great mum but we wanted to be sure the lambs had enough milk
Tess, our adorable indoor dog. Shes still a puppy really so incredibly friendly and playful!
Both of us after finishing mucking out the winter barn with forks and wheel barrows, it took as a month or two but it's a great job especially as we can listen to music while we work.

Host ref number: 166788185219