Help me to improve my English in beautiful Umbria, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    338

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ciao a tutti! My name is Irene and I am a 40 years old tour guide. I live and work in Umbria region, also known as the green heart of Italy, in a small medieval hamlet at 10 km from Perugia, the capital of the region. I live alone but I have a 15 years old daughter who stays here often during the week. I love the house where I live, a typical medieval townhouse, and I could never go back to a modern flat. Umbria is a beautiful place, as I call it, my beautiful ''office'' . The most famous town is Assisi. Perugia, the capital, is a lively small city, other towns such as Orvieto or Gubbio are visited by thousands of people every year. Views are amazing, we are very spoiled here with the landscape and very high quality of life.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Well, I am offering you a free guided tour of Umbria!! We can tour the town where I work while you help me to improve my English. And of course while you are here I can answer all of your questions about Italian life or help with your Italian if you are studying it. Sometimes I host couchsurfers so I know very well that these experiences are always interesting from all points of view, and that the cultural and personal exchange will be natural.

  • Help

    Help

    I had a beautiful experience with a workawayer in 2017. We are now best friends ans see each other every year. So my expectations are very high ihihi...
    To be honest, I don't need much work in the house, I would like to improve English or French with a few lessons and just enjoying the company of my guests. Maybe in the future I could need some help if I decide to do some little maintenance projects in my place or things like that. I also have a mum who loves learning English and would enjoy a few lessons from a nice teacher. I don't accept guests throughout the whole year, cause I like traveling too and I also enjoy my loneliness from time to time. There are also some months of the year when I am very busy with work. But try and ask... you never know ;)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live with me. My house has two floors. There is the kitchen and the living room downstairs and two large rooms upstairs, one is mine the other will be your private one. You will sleep on a single bed. The bathroom upstairs will be your private one. I host couchsurfers so for me is normal to have guests at home but I prefer female guests.
    When we will eat at home I will be happy to share my food and meals with you, you won't have to buy anything. If you/we decide to eat out that will be at your expences. I have a normal Italian diet, I am not vegetarian, I like cooking. I have wi-fi.
    For insurance reasons I cannot let you drive my car but I will be glad to drive you to bus stop or anywhere else if I can, and of course to pick you up when you will arrive (train station/bus station/blabla car, there is a also an airport with flights from/to London).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are free to manage your free time as you want. There is a bus stop for Perugia city center at about one kilometer from my place. To be true, there isn't much night life at a walking distance from here. Of course I would be happy to share with you also my daily life in case I go out with friends or go to cultural events.
    - Preference will be given to female guests.
    - The perfect period for me would be towards the end of November for 10 days/2 weeks .
    - As I work in Ireland and I am very interested in Irish culture (and accent ihihihi) preference will be given to Irish candidates, but this is not a priority.
    - As I speak and work in French too, also French candidates are welcome

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Assisi
Perugia
My place
Host ref number: 163854689972