Help us with some small home renovation in the very rural village or on an Eco Project. Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    As a base for the eco project below we’ve now a village house near Pinoso that we’re doing basic repairs to and modernising and need help through March... it would be great to welcome you to our home to stay with us. Food is provided and spending time out on the terrace in the day when it’s warm or inside around the fire in the evening. There are a variety of things that you could do based on your preferences and experience. Fill gaps in plaster, painting, odd portions of cement work, assist me build a stud wall for an additional shower room, tiling. Additionally for variety we’re ongoing preparing the parcella for the eco project noted below in the hills behind Pinoso from mid March, a very peaceful tranquil location. The village is an unspoiled old Spanish village, Pinoso town is 6 Kms away and we go there daily, and there's plenty of walking in the mountains behind us or use our mountain bikes. Please contact us to chat and see if this would suit you for a Spring countryside Spain trip. NOTE its 16-20 degrees clear blue sun sky’s in the day now. We have gas heaters for each bedroom, and the main room has an open wood fire, Of course if you come and it’s not for you that’s fine no obligation to stay.
    ...........................................
    We (Juliana and Martin) fell in love with this area in Spain and are slowly developing our hillside parcella with 360 degree views of beautiful unspoiled landscape of old rustic rural Spain. We like to live alongside nature being self sufficient as possible and in tune ecologically. We are one hour inland from Alicante, backing onto a national park Sierra. We self building tourist accommodations using natural materials, firstly constructing three timber Geodesic domes (v3 5.5m) and a straw bale communal and kitchen area, plus nature showers and composting toilets.
    We want to offer in 2020 two or three Workaway folk the chance to stay in Spain with free accommodation at our house nearby or when it warms up from March on the parcella in tents or the caravan that’s there, and have access to a basic food larder for between 1 week and 6 months, assisting us to prepare the eco project site and construct timber bases, clearing the land for pathways etc, also and erecting the geodesic domes and build a straw-bale kitchen and communal area. We are experienced natural material builders and are passionate to share our knowledge on this project. Additionally we will be planting windbreak plants (bamboo/hemp), and if you want theres lots of opportunity to upcycle items (and get as creative you wish). Anyone that would enjoy hanging out in rural Spain and being part of this Eco Project with a few hours a day in exchange for accommodation and gaining knowledge in strawbale and adobe building techniques would be welcome to contact us. We intend to use as much as possible only use natural materials and re-cycle upcycle items. We've attended several strawbale and adobe and reciprocal timber roof courses ourselves with the Gurus of these subjects in UK and Europe and then volunteered ourselves on several eco projects to practice these new skills so we understand how it feels to volunteer and want to ensure the most fulfilling and fun experience for you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the local community and Town of Pinoso you will get by with English in some restaurants but as there are few English here you have the chance to fully immerse yourself in Spanish language and culture. Pinoso is a small unspoiled by traffic rural Town with a population of ~5600. It is noted still as the fourth wealthiest town in Spain with marble and bodegas bringing the money to the community and ensuring this is a family oriented peaceful town ensuring having a chat with locals and enjoying the market is easy. If you want we can teach strawbale build techniques including adobe (mud/clay) plaster. We've attended several strawbale and adobe and reciprocal timber roof courses ourselves and are passionate to share this knowledge. Many mountain biking trails are within metres of the land to take you into the national park (take our mountain bikes and explore), and of course lots of fresh air hiking.

  • Help

    Help

    Immediate requirement assist us with general repairs and painting and decorating. We know the area well and are happy to take travellers around the area

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Russian, Lithuanian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Feb and March stay in a bedroom in our village house. Lovely open fire in the living room. Terrace looking to the mountains. heaters in each room, use your own sleeping bags or we've duvets etc. You can hear the Village church bell every hour.... very old world Spain...... but don’t worry the church is not next door so it’s not too loud.
    From March maybe, camp in tents on our parcella in the hills or stay in the caravan there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to do locally with good bus links to other rural Towns and direct to Alicante (1hr - 5 euro) culture, architecture and beautiful beaches. Although, Pinoso is a family town, with 2/3 generations still in the same town due to its local natural resource and high levels of employment (marble, road grit, grape, olives, almonds), there is also a thriving restaurant and bar life to enjoy. Many mountain biking trails are within metres of the land (take our mountain bikes and explore), and of course hiking, and road cycling on low traffic roads. A horse riding school has just opened 5 mins away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2/3 hours a day


Host ref number: 156671713555