Help on variety of projects including organic gardening and animals in Oregon, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    124

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ethan is a contractor who enjoys doing evening and weekend projects on the farm. He will teach our guests woodworking skills, building and other hands on projects. Ethan is also a certified dive instructor with a degree in Marine Biology. Jennifer is a former teacher and current 4-H Leader who works full time on the farm, gardens or in the house most of the time and she is always happy to provide instruction, information and help on nearly all projects. Dustin is Ethan and Jennifer's 29 year old son who handles most of the feeding/ barn cleaning jobs when we do not have outside help/ guests. Phoenix is the 15 year old son that helps with a little of everything during his school breaks. All four members of our family volunteer extensively in the community and have a lot of experience putting on events. Our farm is not yet fully self sufficient and currently does not make a profit, therefore we offer a strait over help/ food and board exchange and we are not able to offer monetary compensation. We do have several great reviews through another group similar to Workaway. Please just ask if you would like to see these reviews.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will have an opportunity to learn a variety of skills through instruction and hands on application. Some of these skills are organic gardening, foraging, identifying and preparing wild edible plants, identifying and use of herbs, milking procedures, making dairy products and soap from goats milk, making herbal tinctures, infusions, raising of a variety of animals, helping to put on certain community events (such as movie night, organizing and putting on a dinner, passing out clothing to the homeless or help with our 4-H Club). Guests can also learn how to build multiple farm items from pallet furniture to bee hives to chicken tractors. We also participate in additional classes and workshops offered in the area. Other things guest can do as time permits, include learning how to make healthy animal treats, herbal scrubs, beer making (planned for 2018) and Kombucha making (planned for 2018).

  • Help

    Help

    We have a wide variety of projects that visitors can participate with, including organic gardening projects, planting from seed, to plant, to harvest. We have some fruit and nut trees, a huge vegetable garden area (and can add on more), an herbal/medicinal garden and raised beds. We are also planting more fruit trees and from July- September we will be harvesting and preserving lots of blackberries, herbs and produce. We have an assortment of animals from chickens, peafowl, geese, turkeys, rabbits, dogs, a very large herd of dairy goats and some pigs. We offer opportunities to learn about housing, feeding, daily care, medical care and treatment of these animals as well as processing of certain animals. There will typically be opportunities to learn how to milk goats by hand and machine and make products from the milk. We also exhibit some show animals and some guests will have the opportunity to help with this if they desire. We have assorted random projects planned for this season from making bee hives, to an aqauponics system with catfish, a solar shower, making outdoor furniture, raised and planter gardens, etc. While I would love help with cooking, this is not mandatory. As part of the general maintenance of a large property/farm, we will also be spreading gravel, wood chips, mulching plants, weeding, cleaning barns, running new pasture fencing and repairing fencing. Ethan is a general contractor and will be leading some building projects which can range from rabbit nest boxes, to chicken tractors to building small barns. We do not require that visitors have any experience in any of these areas, however a strong interest and desire to learn about these things is a must. We do not allow excessive alcohol use, the use of illegal drugs and prefer minimal smoking is designated areas due to fire hazards. We expect all helpers/guests to show up on time and on days agreed upon.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    RV Trailer with beds, bathroom, showers, table, kitchen, cooking equipment, dishes, cabinets, basic seasonings, bedding, fridge, etc. Outdoor tables/ chairs can often be supplies as well. Typically trailers are private unless guests have agreed or requested otherwise (EX- a couple that is traveling together). We may offer tent accommodations if trailers are already spoken for, however this would be at the discretion of the guest and of course they would be aware of this prior to scheduling a visit. We provide healthy breakfast and lunch foods that are easy for guests to prepare in their own kitchen. We provide a prepared, healthy dinner every day as well as a community cooking area with propane stove/ grill, coffee maker, fridge and table (on porch area).
    WE HAVE NO WI-FI/ NO INTERNET AVAILABLE, however there is Wi-Fi locally.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In guests free time they can fish, swim, do archery or raft right here on the ranch (we have 1 mile of riverfront, though it is a smaller river). There are tons of places to hike, swim, bike ride, nature view all within feet from our ranch. If guests do not have their own transportation, we are often able to take them into town on days off and sometimes we take much bigger trips to the coast, local waterfalls, fish hatcheries, aquariums, museums, etc. Our closest town of Cottage Grove has bowling, shopping, thrift shops, golf courses, small museums, private airport, multiple restaurants, gyms, fast food, a hospital, farmers markets, very nice parks, more ponds/rivers, etc. There are also bus systems from town that can take you about anywhere. We do not have WI-FI here at this time, however, there is free Wi-Fi in town which is about 8 miles away. Bicycles and fishing poles are available for guests to use (please just ask). We also have archery equipment and we can offer some instruction on archery. We also typically have some assortment of water toys/ tubes available, just let us know what interests you so we can have it available. We are located 2 miles from a nearby lake, 8 miles from good sized town, 45 minutes from Eugene, 2.5 hours from Portland and 2 hours from the coast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 153894284348