Help with renovation projects with me in my house in Poitou Charentes, France.

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I own a large old Charentaise Farmhouse in the little village of St Leger (between Saintes and Pons) in the Charente Maritime department. I am currently renovating the house in order to retire and run it as a Bed & Breakfast. I have a four year plan to get the place up and running and converted to how I eventually see it in the future. I am single and have a 21 year old son and a 31 year old daughter who live in the UK. I originally come from the Isle of Wight (in the UK) and my mother, brother and sister (and families) still live there. I am an ex military man having served in the British army for six years and then a further ten years in the French Foreign Legion. I currently work as a security consultant in the oil and gas industry and at the moment spend equal time at home in France and away in Africa (Chad) working.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in a wine growing region which is not too far away from Cognac so if either of these industries interest you then this is the place to visit. I am 35 minutes away from some lovely beaches and the lovely Charente Maritime port of La Rochelle is "just up the road".. Bordeaux is equidistance (an hours drive to the south of me) from my house. There are numerous Roman ruins (including the Amphitheatre in Saintes) in the area and there are loads of art schools/galleries all around. I am a fluent French speaker and am more than happy to translate and help you better your French.

  • Help

    Help

    I need to get the whole of the outside of the house repainted and I have various other projects planned which include a new drive to lay, new paving, new decking around the pool, new lighting in one of the barns, new electrical sockets, new window/door shutters to make and paint etc etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have five double bedrooms (two en-suite with newly installed bathrooms) and am currently renovating a small cottage in my garden which will eventually become self contained with it's own bathroom and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have pedal bikes at the house and cycle racks for your car if you are travelling with your own transport. The Charente river is not too far away and there are also fishing lakes in the area. The house has a new inflatable pool and spa.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 153464592857