Learn alot about Norwegian culture on our farm on the west coast of Norway, Møre og Romsdal




Favourited 121 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We are a family of five, 3 generations running a farm, and our main activity is catering for guests visiting the farm.
    The hosts; Gudrun & Guttorm, run the farm with all its activities. Our children are currently away studying, but spend much of their summer on the farm. Gudruns mother; Unni 85 years, is also staying on the farm. We keep chickens and ducks as well as our cat and most important; our dog Indie. We also grow some vegetables, fruits, berries and herbs, all ecologically.
    Our project that might involve workaway travellers is to make our garden; THE BEST GARDEN IN THE VILLAGE.
    Our garden needs more attention, and we hope for visits from persons that like gardening and have some experience. We also have a constant need for maintaining buildings.

    We live in the most pitoresque part of Norway, with faboulus possibilities for hiking, rock climbing, fishing in fjords or rivers. Access to the nature from our doorstep. Bicycles and rowing boat available for workaways.
    The hosts will of course proudly guide our travellers to our major sights and things to experience.
    Workaways will stay in a selfcontained flat on the farm, but will be expected to share most meals with the hosts.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm is a typical norwegian westcoast farm and you will learn alot about norwegian culture on the farm. When we entertain guests norwegian cuisine, music and culture are very important factors, and workways will be encouraged to take part and get involved.
    We often have visits from cruiseship groups with guests wanting to learn about norwegian westcoast culture and cuisine.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    We hope to find persons that migth help us develop our garden to an exciting and interesting place to stroll around.
    Weeding, tending to the lawns and ponds will also be appreciated. We hope travellers can use, or are open to learn how to handle some basic machinery / tractors.
    Travellers that like cooking, might also be involved in preparing meals on the farm.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some German and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    Self contained flat on the the farm with bathroom, kitchen e.g. (Sleeps up to 4 persons)
    No smoking in the premises.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To benefit from a stay with us, you should be fond of nature and outdoor living. Buss conection to neighbouring towns like Åndalsnes, Molde, Ålesund. Åndalsnes 7 kms away has railway connection to all big cities in Norway.
    At Åndalsnes you wil find cinema, shops, restaurants, coffeshops, climbingwalls, via ferrata e.g.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 152617837797