Support our young community with this recently founded ecovillage in Seewald, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 170 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The Akademie für angewandtes gutes Leben (lit. 'academy of applied good life') or shortly "the academy" - as we refer to it - is a young community about to found an ecovillage.

    Here, not far from Freudenstadt, we are living in a recently founded eco village to evaluate how many of our dreams of a good life for everybody could become reality.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a tiny and peaceful village, roundabout 20min from a the town of Freudenstadt.

    As young people living in a GEN-accredited community, we have great soft skills to share, like for example transparent communication / radical honesty and non-violent communication practices.
    Thats your opportunity to cultivate mature communication, like talking about emotions, in a caring and save environment.

    We are highly motivated to share our recipes from India, Italy and not at least those sustainable seasonal and regional german ones with you.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers especially from:
    23. - 29.09.2019, 21. - 27.10., 11 -17.11.2019, 2. - 7.12.2019

    Here are some areas where we could need your hand, in exchange for an extraordinary cultural community experience:

    A) Akademiebtrieb: Once in a while we are hosting non-profit workshops or little festivals, which always could need some support in the background: e.g. cooking some tea for the upcoming break etc.

    B) "beautiful souls rising": During the next months more and more young familys with little children are interested in helping us. But as our waldkindergarden won't be ready before 2021, we need some education enthusiasts that watch and accompany our youngsters for a couple of hours.

    C) carpentry: You enjoy working with lumber? Feel free to show us how furniture in your hometown would be build - we could bring you in touch with the local sawmill and have some cross-cultural fun in creating new racks or so.
    Besides: There's always a chance to prepare some firewood for the next communal bonfire or the cold winter.

    autumn special: We are having "Schernbach winterfest machen"-weeks and could need some help in making our huge premises cosy, warm and ready for the cold days that are about to come.

    D) deal with the mess: tidy up and clean up the shared facilities, that get battered in everyday grind.

    E) educate yourself and others: Find out what it takes to solve a common problem, take your time, document and share your learning path and findings.

    G) green gardening: we are about to crop and seed a big market garden in our own agriculture farm and are always looking for people with a green thumb.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english, spanish,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own room, equipped with a bed, chair and everything else you need for a good experience.

    We all share some bathrooms and all the food in the kitchen. Our groceries are mostly organic, coming from regional farmers and sustainable sources, if not even from our own garden.
    If you have special (food) needs, please let us know - yet we found a way to suit everyone from onion-intolerant to meatman. ;o)
    Only keep in mind, that we are aiming for a sustainable way of life in all areas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there is a beautiful forest and a little lake, the Nagoldtalsperre nearby.

    Most people in our 40+ persons community speak german and a little english. Few persons speak french and spanish, so please bring at least basic german skills or patience ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 149392828474