Revival of an old estate and a mill in the forest near Plitvice national park, Croatia

Country

Croatia

updated  

Favourited 273 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    182

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone!
    We are an Italian-croatian family of three, soon to be four, and we are living on an old country estate in central Croatia.
    We moved here a few years ago and since then we made some big improvements to the place, especially with the help of many volunteers that stayed with us in the last year.
    Our wish is to bring more life to this beautiful area that has been abandoned for a long time, to create an open platform where people can learn from each other, relax, enjoy, be creative, make new experiences surrounded by untouched nature and leave their mark to make it even more beautiful.

    NOTE: Due to a change in our circumstances, this year we can't plan too much ahead, but you can still contact us and we'll let you know what is the situation about one month in advance. Thanks a lot for your interest!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enjoy the beautiful natural ambient, practice your Italian, English or Croatian, strengthen your muscles doing some useful physical work, visit the nearby Plitvice national park and explore the surroundings in your free time. You can learn something about the culture of Croatia and share your experiences of your travels and your own country, and of course, have fun!
    Being an IT consultant and a translator, we are still learning the skills needed to live surrounded by nature and take care of it. We will share all of our knowledge, but more importantly we are really eager to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    We are reclaiming land that has been neglected for a few decades, and we could use your help with many things.
    Also, we very much appreciate help with cooking, washing the dishes and basic cleaning, since taking care of our baby doesn't leave us much time for that.

    On our property there is a beautiful forest with a spring, a stone water-mill that needs to be rebuilt and several wooden/stone buildings in different conditions.

    We always welcome skills and experience in:
    - Tree surgery and pruning
    - Carpentry, masonry and construction related skills ( roofing, flooring, foundation, framing, tiling )
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️Super appreciated experience with natural and sustainable materials*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️
    - Permaculture design, gardening
    - Landscaping


    Some ongoing activities we can use help with:
    - Grass mowing
    - Reclaiming land from various overgrown vegetation
    - Cooking and help in the kitchen
    - House maintenance
    - Babysitting

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Croatian, Italian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Update: We have a small caravan that is already reserved/occupied from March till June 2020, but there is a free guest house still under construction (the inside part needs to be completed), suitable as basic simple accommodation for the ones with spartan spirit.
    Also, there is a lot of camping space in the spring/summer. We can provide the tents as well.
    We use our family kitchen together and you can use a separate bathroom with shower.

    If needed, we have air mattresses for the tents and bedding, but we recommend having your own sleeping bag.

    Since we are not connected to the communal water system, the water we have is limited so we ask everyone to use it with consideration and awareness. During the summer, a great option for refreshment is swimming in the crystal clear nearby rivers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is not directly reachable by public transport, but we can pick you up in Slunj which is our closest little town (basic shops, post office, bank...) with long distance buses, and it is 20km away.

    You arrive by taking the national "D1" road that connects the capital Zagreb to the coast, passing through the famous National Park Plitvice Lakes (45km).

    We also recommend visiting the beautiful millers' village Rastoke (19 km), the new Karlovac Aquarium (40 km), Barac Cave (46 km) and there are many more fun activities in the area like horse riding, rafting, quads, paintball, hiking, cycling, swimming in Korana and Mrežnica river, etc.


    IMPORTANT: It's good to be aware that without your own means of transport, you depend on us or somebody else to drive you to and from the property if you want to go somewhere.

    If you are coming with your own means of transport, a little warning - our road is a dirt road that requires some caution (not recommended for very low or new vehicles).

    Also, we're in the middle of nature, close to the forest, so be sure you are comfortable with some insects and occasional wildlife.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our dog Lia, on watch
Plitvice Lakes, beautiful in all seasons
Korana river, near Rastoke
The stream and mill area
Our first experimental garden
First days at our place...

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

























Host ref number: 145127595926