1 / 5

Community-based ecotourism projects and living locally in Kusutkau, Ecuador

  • Favourited 19 times
  • Last activity: 11 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hola, I´m Tsentsak from the Achuar nationality. I live in the Achuar territory in the community Kusutkau. I work in community-based tourism to strengthen our culture and the flora and fauna of our forest. In our community we share different activities such as cultural Mingas (community works), hikes in the forest, ancestral ceremonies, boat rides, ancestral games and cultural inmersion.
    I live with my family in a typical Achuar house. There is no light, we cook on an open fire and we eat fish, Chontacuros, chicken and local vegetables. We drink the chicha (a drink made of maniok which we typically offer our visitors when they arrive.

    Hola soy Tsentsak de la nacionalidad Achuar, vivo en el territorio Achuar en la comunidad de kusutkau, y trabajo con el turismo comunitario, para asi fortalecer nuestra cultura y el bosque lo que es la flora y fauna, dentro de esa comunidad compartimos diferentes actividades, como mingas culturales, caminata al bosque, ceremonias ancestrales de la cultura achuar, paseo con el bote, juegos ancestrales y la inmersión cultural.
    Yo con mi familia vivo en una casa típico Achuar, no tengo luz, cocinamos con la leña y las comidas servimos pescados, Chontacuros, pollos criollos, productos locales y la bebida es la chicha de yuca que ofrecemos antes de conversar a nuestros visitantes.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will enjoy our hospitality and learn about our artisans. We can teach you our language Achuar and share our knowledge about the power of Arutom, the god of the forest.

    el beneficio la hospitalidad, obsequiar nuestras artesanías, enseñar nuestra propia idioma achuar y enseñar el poder de Arutam de la naturaleza.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We want to learn english and conserve our forest by our community-based ecotourism projects.

    Queremos aprender el idioma ingles, la conservación del bosque y en proyectos de ecoturismo comunitario.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    aprender el idioma para contactar con mas turistas del mundo

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My house is perfect for volunteers, it´s a typical Achuar house. Also we can organize a stay in a hotel which is 30 minutes away from our community. It´s called Lodge Kapawi. We will offer you typical food. For vegetarians we can offer: palmito (soft wood of a palm tree), papaya, naranjilla, caimito, wabas, amazonian grapes, (fish). For volunteers that eat everything we can offer also fish, chicken and wild animals we hunt.

    el lugar es perfecto en la casa típica achuar para voluntarios o en mi casa y también contamos con un hotel a 30 minutos de la comunidad que se llama lodge kapawi y de la alimentación ofrecemos comida típica para los vegetarianos: palmito, papaya, naranjilla, caimito, wabas, uvas del monte (pescado) etc. que come todo: pescado, pollo, animales silvestres etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is important to bring rainboots, a flashlight, mosquito repellent, raincoat and light shirts that dry quickly. In your free time you can walk in the forest, visit neighbouring Achuar families, swim in the river, meditate, make music or participate in our sports events like soccer and volleyball.

    Por favor es importante que lleven, botas de caucho, linterna, repelentes, poncho de agua y llevar camisas suaves que se pueden secar rápido, en los tiempos libres, caminata al bosque, visita a una familia Achuar, nadar en el rio, meditación , musica y encuentro deportivo como futbol y vóley.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week / Máximo 4-5 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

Host ref number: 144832995164

Photos

Feedback

Volunteer at a sustainable community in Ecuador's Tropical Dry Forest
Help with online websites and cleaning while enjoying Rio Chico, Ecuador