Help in the house, garden, with pets,maintenance & painting in a beautiful part of Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 225 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    194

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small-holding of 38 acres in Scotland just on the edge of a small town in Perthshire. I rented out my stables and part of the land to a charity but that didn't work out and I'm now faced with a lot of damaged fencing and filthy fields which will take time to sort out as money is available. I'm retired but kept busy on the farm as there's always plenty to do. My daughter and her boyfriend have now taken over the stable buildings and a lot of the land and plan to have some glamping pods and camping. I have a little rescue dog and my daughter has three dogs, some chickens, sheep and lambs. Two of my little ponies will be returning to the farm but as I broke my arm recently that's been delayed for a few weeks. We're looking for help to tidy up the garden, do general maintenance, painting and decorating and occasionally help with our animals e.g. feed chickens and clean out hen house, feed and water lambs, clean field when ponies are back and I'm sure they would love to have a good groom occasionally. I'm on the farm most of the time as is my daughter so we work here while her boyfriend works full-time as a tree surgeon, helping out on the farm at weekends.
    Someone with construction skills would also be helpful to get involved with some of my daughters projects.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful part of Scotland and it suits people who love the outdoors. It's peaceful and relaxing at the farm but within easy reach of the cities with good transport links. Some workaways come to improve their English and some come to get away from their hectic city life for a while. However, those with experience of outdoor or maintenance work would be preferred.

  • Help

    Help

    The main areas of help are general maintenance, painting and gardening. At this time of year the verges need cut back so strimming and chopping bushes also needs doing. There is always weeding needing done. Painting Buildings, clearing out animal housing, pressure washing the yard, stables & buildings, fencing (farm fields).
    Please read the 'Information for Workawayers' on this website, especially note the bit that says 'Housework i.e. cooking, washing- up, etc should be shared'. Most volunteers don't need to be reminded of this and are happy to 'muck in' but some do so it's best to state this at the start. You'll also be responsible for keeping your room clean and clearing up after yourself in the rest of the house.

    TERMS AND CONDITIONS
    25hrs per week
    Times are flexible

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Usually, a room in the farmhouse is made available but the two-bedroom cottage next to the farmhouse will be available for a few months, there is also a touring caravan available to stay in next to the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area of Scotland is well known for outdoor pursuits and has some fabulous countryside. It's particularly popular for hillwalking, cycling, fishing, and golfing. There are also a few castles within easy reach and the towns of Perth and Dundee are only 18 miles away. There will be ample opportunity to explore but I'll be unavailable for lifts for a while as I've been told I won't be able to drive for 6 to 8 weeks due to my broken arm but if you ask nicely my daughter might be able to give lifts. There's a good public transport service which passes the top of the lane and it's just a 15/20 minute walk into town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week maximum

A photo of myself
Ruby, one of our 3 cats
Where we are
View from the farmhouse garden looking south to the Sidlaw hills

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 14441733234d