Help establish a permaculture garden on the island of Falster, Denmark



Favourited 44 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

  • Description


    Hi :-)

    I am Marianne, 55 years old, and live with my cat Louie in the forest Corselitze on the island of Falster. My daughter Olivia and her German Shepherd are also part of the house. We have a piece of land nearby where Olivia works with her four ponies. My friend "Lange Finn" from the free town "Christiania" in Copenhagen is also a regular guest and helper in the house. Here in the garden, I work with my love of nature, sustainability, vegan food and permaculture, which I am certified in.

    The house is located approx. 700 meters from a lovely bathing beach and is surrounded by forest that stretches 18 km along the coast. Here you are surrounded by quiet nature, only hikers, foresters and hunters occasionally interrupt the silence. The house is 250 years old, very charming, but small and very primitive. Here are old pipes and a small septic tank, and for the sake of the environment and the house, we are aware of our consumption, trying to use as few resources as possible and using them in the best possible way. There is a small tank for hot water, so lang baths is not possible. Here, however, is everything one needs. There are an outdoor exercise room and bikes that are often used.

    I am challenged with bad knees and need a stand in for my legs. Most tasks we will do together, but there will also be tasks that we do separately. We help each other with cooking, washing dishes, keeping the stove going and easier cleaning while we get to know each other and exchange life experiences :-) The garden is relatively newly laid out and still in process and plants must be sown and planted, harvested and maintained in the garden and House. In addition, there may be tasks on the ground where we have to help Olivia. The daily tasks will therefore be very versatile and will include daily walks in the woods and beach, to gather materials for the garden.

    Already in January I start sowing the first seeds and then the work runs in the garden until the end of October. Permaculture is a philosophy where you work a lot with perennials and original varieties and it is a little different to work with than the traditional ways. My experiences with it, I would very much like to share. As the house is relatively small, I want workaway helpers who are interested in shorter periods approx. 2-4 weeks. Finally, write if you want to know more. Warm greetings Marianne

    Hej :-)

    Jeg er Marianne, 55 år, og bor med min kat Louie i skoven Corselitze på øen Falster. Min datter Olivia og hendes schæfer er også en del af huset. Vi har et stykke jord i nærheden, hvor Olivia arbejder med sine fire ponyer. Min ven "Lange Finn" fra fristaden "Christiania" i København er også en fast gæst og hjælper i huset.

    Her i haven arbejder jeg med min kærlighed til naturen, bæredygtighed og permakultur, som jeg er certificeret i .
    Huset ligger ca. 700 meter fra en lækker badestrand og er omgivet af skov, der strækker sig 18 km langs kysten. Her er man omgivet af stille natur, kun hikers , skovarbejdere og jægere afbryder af og til stilheden. Huset er 250 år gammelt, meget charmerende, men lille og meget primitivt. Her er gamle rør og en lille septiktank, og for miljøet og husets skyld, er vi bevidste om vores forbrug, forsøger at bruge færrest mulige ressourcer og bruge dem bedst muligt. Der er en lille vandvarmer i huset, så lange bade er ikke muligt. Her er dog alt, hvad man skal bruge. Der er et udendørs træningsrum og cykler, der ofte anvendes.

    Jeg er udfordret med dårlige knæ og har brug for en stand in for mine ben. De fleste opgaver vil vi lave sammen, men der vil også være opgaver, som vi laver hver for sig. Vi hjælper hinanden med madlavning, opvask, at holde gang i brændeovnen og lettere rengøring imens vi lærer hinanden at kende og udveksler livserfaringer :-)

    Haven er relativt nyanlagt og stadig i proces og der skal sås og plantes planter, høstes og vedligeholdes i have og hus. Desuden kan der være opgaver på grunden, hvor vi skal hjælpe Olivia. De daglige opgaver vil derfor være meget alsidige og vil bl.a. indeholde daglige ture i skoven og stranden, for at samle materialer til haven. Allerede i januar starter jeg op med at så de første frø og så kører arbejdet i haven lige indtil sidst i oktober. Permakultur er en filosofi, hvor man arbejder meget med flerårige planter og oprindelige sorter og det er lidt anderledes at arbejde med end de traditionelle måder. Mine erfaringer med det, vil jeg meget gerne dele ud af.

    Da huset er relativt lille ønsker jeg workaway-hjælpere, der er interesseret i kortere perioder ca. 2-4 uger.

    Skriv endelig, hvis du vil vide mere.

    Varme hilsner Marianne

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about establishing and working in a permaculture garden. I'm educated in social science, design and i'm certified in permaculture. When i have guests i'm curious about how your everyday life and how your country works. There is always a lot to learn. Here in the house we're primarily eating vegan.

  • Help


    I would primary like to work with you in the garden, but there can also be smaller activities in maintaining the house. I'm challenged with my knees, and need to take it easy, something that is very difficult for me, because there is so much i would like to do.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will get your own room with a 1,4 meters bed. We will share kitchen and bathroom. I will provide you with healthy vegan food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many lovely walking and biking posibilities and going bathing in the sea. You will be far out in the forest. I will show you the area in my car and maybe go for something cultural if you like. In biking distance you can see beautyful nature and ancient monuments, the largest tree in Denmark, go to the islands best bakery and a lot more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 143829938121