Horse Acreage, Alberta, Canada



Favourited 346 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We have a country home with 15 horses, 1 dog and 3 cats. We have a 20 year old son and a 18 year old daughter and we have a part-time horse business at home. My husband and I work full-time outside of our home. We have hosted students in the past and really enjoy it. We are a very active family and enjoy many outdoor activities. We are looking for females only please who have horse experience to help run our horse programs. We also like our volunteers to help with cooking, light housework and gardening.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from learning about our horse business and learning what Alberta Canada is about. You will learn how to cook Canadian food also. We are very friendly and love hosting.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We have a part-time business with our horses that teaches people life skills. HORSE EXPERIENCE IS MANDATORY. We would like help working with the horses and cooking, cleaning and yard work. Females only please.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    House in a beautiful country setting. The bed is in a large room with a TV. You will have your own bathroom with a shower and a bath. Shared laundry and shared kitchen. We have internet also.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 30 minutes to West Edmonton Mall, 45 minutes to the University of Alberta. Edmonton is a large city with 1 million people. We have the beautiful Rocky Mountains in Alberta that are 3 hours away (Jasper, Alberta).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 143685265638