Learn about organic gardening and explore South West Cork, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on two acres with a pond, vegetable patch and a tunnel. I am a young at heart 60+. I went back to college as a mature student and have a degree in Applied Social Science, in Youth and Community Work. I am retired now and I grow a variety of vegetables; broccoli, cabbage, potatoes, tomatoes, onions, carrots etc. I have a small orchard with some very old apple trees. My place is quite remote and the sea is only one mile from my house. There's a nice beach two miles from the house and there are several villages near me. Bob the pony keeps the grass short and Púca the cat keeps the mice away.

    I am originally from the US and moved to Ireland in the early 1970's. My husband and I ran a pub in the village of Kealkill in the late 1970's and early 1980's. I have worked as a chef in various places over the years and I ran my own restaurant in Durrus village for a number of years in the 1990's. I like to cook and am happy to cook together if you are interested.

    I need help keeping the place tidy and growing veg. My grown-up children help out some weekends, and my adult son helps in the garden most weekends in the Summer. There is a small workshop with a variety of tools for wood and metal work if you are interested in that sort of thing.

    I am more than willing to help arrange activities such as hill walking or going to the local swimming pool. I can also provide transport around the local area. For example, there are Thursday night music sessions in the nearest town and traditional music in a village near me on Sundays. I am looking for easy going people who are willing to do some honest work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I read a lot and am interested in many things. I particularly like to knit and would be happy to teach knitting. I have a lot of cooking experience and have many books on cooking. I have gardened for much of my life and have a large library of books on almost every aspect of organic gardening. I am a native English speaking with an american inflection and am happy to teach English or improve your conversational ability through chatting. I have a lot of stories and knowledge of the local area, as well as a collection of books on Irish history both nationally and locally. I have a somewhat unique perspective on Ireland in that I have seen the country change drastically since I moved here in the 1970's. People who move to West Cork from other countries are often called 'blow-ins' by local Irish people. I know many blow-ins and locals, and the variety of ideas and perspectives you will find in a few square miles can be astonishing. There is a rich community of different people and interesting talk to be had. In short, I can tell you about life here and help you experience it for yourself. Being older, I am not much of a pub goer but I can help arrange some trips to various local pubs.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help in the garden weeding and planting vegetables. I need help in the house with general cleaning and cooking. I am 66 and have bad arthritis in my knees which limits my mobility. General help around the house and good company would be most appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a modern 2 bedroom house with a large kitchen dining area and a living room. There are two bathrooms, one in my bedroom and one for the rest of the house. For guests I have 1 bedroom in the house with a double bed in it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are tourist attractions: Garnish Island, Mizen Head, Bantry House.
    There are activities: Hill walking on the Sheep's Head Way, sailing in Bantry Bay, kayaking in Bantry Bay, swimming in the local swimming pool or the ocean.
    There are taxi's available to the nearest town Bantry, but I would open to driving you to places as part of your stay. Money for petrol would be appreciated.
    Bantry is connected by bus to Cork City from which you can travel to anywhere in Ireland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours with 2 days off


Host ref number: 141739952657