Volunteer home help / driver / companion. Countryside, Norfolk UK. Longer-term stays required if possible.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 142 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️UPDATE*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    I have now entertained 9 successful workaway guests here at the Cottage one of whom came again in May to drive me to see family in France and has no returned to Brazil.i have occasional help from a previous guest from France, but am looking for a guest later in the year as I now have made arrangements for this summer/autumn

    I hioe to find a guest able to drive the Honda Civic if you would like to discuss please do contact me for a chat.

    Aged 93, I still retain most of my faculties but seek care and general support in the house and garden. Applicant must have a clean driving licence.

    There is private accommodation in the main house with dining and sitting room, shower / WC, central heating, wood burning stove, television and good WiFi reception..

    The house which consists of two separate cottages , one let out to an agronomist, and an annexe where I live, stands on a five acre wooded plot with a kitchen garden in the summer growing asparagus, raspberries, red currants, leeks, grapes, courgettes etc., a wildflower meadow and a
    small flower garden and shrubbery. The plot is largely self sustaining, but there is machinery.
    There are some geese which keep the grass down one of hwom is sitting. I attend Quaker meeting for worship every Sunday am. You would be very welcome to join me if you so wish but it is not obligatory.

    Wingfield village is small and scattered but with a large medieval church, a council-run Arts Centre, a green and riding stables with café. There is a good village shop one mile away, Norwich is 45 minutes by car, but there is Saturday return bus service, free if you have a bus pass. There is a country bus service passing through a nearby village and good train and national coach services from Diss, 9 miles away. The area is rural and quiet, so a significant degree of self-sufficiency is required. In your free time there is pleasant countryside walking. There is a small indoor heated swimming pool, which I use each morning, and you are welcome to make use of it. Each of the surrounding villages has some form of shops/cafés/pubs or points of interest to be explored. I am happy to provide information on this.

    As per the standard Workaway arrangement, the food for all meals is provided. I ask your help in doing the weekly shopping for this, and my previous Workaways have tended to take control of the meal preparation, which has been very welcome.

    I enjoy conversation and reading e,g. the Guardian, the London Review of Books, books themselves, and writing. I don't watch much telly except for the ten o'clock BBC news and some of the BBC4 programmes. There is a a library of several thousand wide ranging books here in the Cottage.
    Much of my life was spent abroad (Africa and the Pacific). My current interests are wide and include prison reform, national and local politics, asylum seekers and refugees, all religions, and much else. I also enjoy keeping in regular contact with many friends and family members, and find my Apple iPad an invaluable tool for this.

    Potential applicants are invited to hold a facetime / skype telephone to explore further

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Much of my life has been spent overseas where I have acquired many friends, and this informs my international perspective and the experiences I can share.

    My final post-retirement job was as Registrar of the University of Technology in Papua New Guinea, working mainly with Melanesians. My wife, a musician and ethno musicologist died 9 years ago.

    I won an Open Scholarship to Oxford in Mathematics during WW2, did 2 years National service with the Royal Navy in the East Indies fleet, and afterwards was recruited to serve in the Uganda Colonial Administration. I was invited to stay on by the PM of the new government as PS Education after independence , and when I left Uganda was invited to become the Admin Secreatray of the Institute of Development Studies, an international body set up by Barbara Castle to assist newly developing countries. Our graduate students and visiting fellows came from many different countries, especially those that had just gained independence. A particular interest has been in helping new universities in the Commonwealth. So my interests are very wide. I call myself an internationalist.

  • Help

    Help

    Driving is crucial, to enable me to attend appointments and other commitments. Cooking, shopping, light cleaning, gardening, and conversation are additional requests.
    I have a cleaner on Sat am.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some others as indicated.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private cottage part of main house (I live in the annexe) with dining and sitting rooms, shower / WC, central heating, wood burning stove, television and WiFi reception (sitting room).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local pub, church, Arts centre, two nearby towns, local shop, rail station 9 miles away (Diss) with a good service to Norwich, Ipswich and London. Walking, cycling, bird watching.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 flexible hours a week

Your Bedroom
Your lounge
Cataloguing the books
Your Lounge
Me, in happy contemplation of the world!
Folly and birthday marquee in wild flower meadow







Host ref number: 139791156613