Learn lots of new skills helping on our diverse organic permaculture farm in northeastern Alberta, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    64

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The Farm is ready to begin the many tasks of summer. The sheep will need their vaccinations and their feet trimmed in June. June is a very busy month for us with all the lambs. There are pens to clean, chicken eggs to gather and coops to clean, The sheep are shorn and the fleece is skirted and then graded for sale or to send to the mill. This is a fun process, but lots of work.

    Our farm has been working towards an organic permaculture farm with fruits, berries, and gardens and raising animals for fibre. Chickens and ducks help to control flies and insects. Dogs patrol for predators. Sheep provide wool and meat .The farmer is a hand crafter, sewer, maker of soaps and lotions and herbal preparations, aromatherapist and gourmet chef. Meat is a byproduct of the farm, but the animals are raised organically. The farm is set in a beautiful, tranquil valley next to crown land and is peaceful and welcoming. There is always much to do, but time for recreation by the fire and outdoor living is part of the lifestyle.

    The gardens will have to be tended in June, which means physically digging out the quack grass and constant weeding! This is an ongoing process and since we are an organic farm, no herbicides are used - just old fashioned 'elbow grease'! The containers need tending and weeding from June through to September, the grass needs trimming and always, the sheep, dogs, chickens,pigs and ducks need attention.

    I want to add a few details to the farm profile, now that our first Workaways have been with us. They say it is great, but it is hard work and they are tired at night. While it is fun to find the free range eggs, it is not so much fun to muck out the cow barn or the clean the chicken coops. It is hard work! There are always fences to fix and animals to tend to. Some of our large rams weigh more or less 200 pounds. Wrangling these sheep means one must be committed and not afraid to get down and dirty. Also, we are not set up to handle small children at all. The guest accommodation is with fine furnishings and valuable items and the pens are not child proof, so traveling families would do best to go where there are also small children for a better experience. Workaways are expected to maintain the house in which they stay, and cook (take turns) and clean. The house should always be in good order, tidy and spotless with polished bathrooms, clean floors and fresh bathrooms. We really are enjoying our Workaway persons at this time, and wish to host more female/male couples or men who are willing to work hard. Thanks for considering us!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area was originally settled by French and Ukrainians and there is a rich culture. The preferred activities are fishing, hunting, camping, and sledding using a machine. The hills are not high enough for real skiing but, cross country is quite doable. There are many activities worthwhile to learn: fermenting, preserving, wool preparation, animal husbandry, and so on. Some of the sheep and goats will be trained to be milked this year, hopefully.

  • Help

    Help

    We are an organic permaculture farm in northeastern Alberta. Set in beautiful rolling hills amidst an old spruce forest, it has several marginal pasture areas where sheep and goats thrive. The farm is also a fibre farm, producing lovely wool and some mohair. There are 6 livestock guardian dogs working and 1 border collie. There are no other people living on the farm than the owner, who is a 65 year old woman.
    Help with maintaining or harvesting the garden, tending the animals (sheep, goats, chickens, ducks, pigs and the dogs), basic housekeeping, possibly taking down an old barn and salvaging the wood (this is in progress) and building from it,painting the outdoor buildings, gardening,repairing fences, and other projects (wool preparation, canning and preserving, fermenting). This is not a room and board situation though, as you will be required to share in cooking and to clean. The owner does not live in the same house you will stay in.

    Arrive by air in Edmonton, then bus to Vermillion, where we will pick you up. Return is the same: drive to bus station, bus to airport and fly out of Edmonton.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 bedroom beautiful house, complete with shower, bath tub, kitchen, and 2 levels for living, plus lovely decks for outdoors. The house is a registered bed and breakfast and does accommodate paying guests. You as a workaway person would not be asked to do anything for the bed and breakfast guests, however, and be expected to give them privacy and respect at all times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no available transport in this rural area. The closest town is 7 km. Bicycle travel is not convenient because of the large trucks on the highway and little room to accommodate bikes. People do have horses but they are not used for transport either. The farm has a truck. We do not accommodate special diets, vegans or vegetarians, children or pets. Our meals are shared and are eaten together, and we are not set up for children or animals. We welcome those who wish to share their special skills and hobbies and are willing to work hard and enjoy themselves. There will be a small barn building this summer, so if you have building skills, that would be great.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 138719237458