Looking for some general help in Sheffield, with the beautiful Peak district nearby, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 151 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Sheffield is a busy city, with the beautiful Peak district nearby. I work as a primary teacher. I have lived abroad and know how much I have learned from other cultures, and I very much enjoy sharing my home with others.
    My profile used to say that I live alone, although one of my workaway volunteers is now going to stay as a paying lodger. Hurray!
    I love craft activities and sometimes spend free time crocheting, printing, collaging.
    I am applying to be a foster carer and would like to do various jobs on the house and garden in preparation. Professional builders are making an extension (started August2015) but there are many other jobs that need doing...
    I am part of a community of Christians living on an estate on the East of the city. I am sure you will meet some of my friends while you stay with me.
    If you are wanting to go to language school, I am willing to negotiate how you spread your volunteer hours out through the week. At evenings and weekends I could work alongside you.
    I am TESOL trained, so although I won't have time to give formal english lessons, I would be happy to correct your English in the conversations that we have.
    I don't eat a lot of meat, so if you are someone who feels like you haven't had a meal unless you have a big lump of meat, then I'm not the host for you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for people to help with one or a combination of the following projects:

    Gardening: weeding, trimming hedges, cutting grass, repotting plants...

    Fencing etc: Putting up a new side gate between me and my neighbour

    Decorating: stripping wallpaper, painting walls, glossing woodwork, fitting carpets.

    Upholstery: I have a sofa and chairs where the fabric is rather discoloured. This would be a job for someone experienced!

    Plumbing: I would like to install a more sensible size sink in my bathroom.

    Housework: general cleaning

    Cooking: It would be nice to share the cooking, for us, and I sometimes have friends round to share a meal too (I don't cook fancy food, so don't have high expectations).
    I have been making sour dough bread, if we're eating more, then we'll need to bake more often...

    To give you a flavour, here is the things that have already been done:

    Gardening:
    - Digging out some conifer trees (a BIG job!) Thank you to Matus and KC (4 trees), Antonio (3 trees) and Alessandro and Giovanni (1 tree)
    - Cutting the privet hedge. Thank you to Antonio
    - Cutting the grass. Thank you to Alessandro and Linh (this keeps needing doing!)
    - Digging out blackberry roots (not sure if we've got them all yet, but we're making progress. Thank you to Matus and KC, Antonio and Alessandro and Giovanni.

    Fencing etc:
    - Destroying the old fence. I enjoyed doing this with Matus and KC
    - Building a retaining wall between my garden and Ben and Jude's house. Thank you Matus and KC
    - Preparing wood for fencing (sanding and painting) and painting old fencing and the wooden compost boxes. I enjoyed doing this with Matus, KC, Joanie and Linh at different times.
    - Building a fence with a gate between my garden and Ben and Jude's house. Thank you Antonio. I really enjoyed getting this done with you.
    - Making steps up to the gate. Thank you Alessandro and Giovanni
    - Making an arch over the gate. I enjoyed doing this with Tamara.

    Decorating:
    - Stripping wallpaper in the downstairs toilet. Thank you Dori and Tamara.

    Upholstery:
    - The dining chairs now all have denim seat covers. I did 6, Tamara did one. Thank you :-)

    Toy Boxes:
    - I bought some wooden boxes, which needed sanding, varnishing, painting with blackboard paint, attaching wheels to hte bottom, drilling holes for handles, lining with fabric, and attaching ropes handles. We have all worked really hard on these. Thank you Matus, KC, Joanie, Linh, Alessandro, Giovanni, Tamara and Dori.

    Building:
    - A friend came and repaired my flat roof, and then my volunteers and I went and helped him with some jobs in return. A great exchange of labour. Thank you Alessandro, Giovanni and Tamara, for enabling Nick to fix the roof.

    General cleaning:
    - Thank you to all of you who helped with cleaning. I think I've done most of it, as I'd like to get male volunteers to spend most of their time doing things that I am not strong enough to do!

    Cooking:
    - Making Jam. I really enjoyed doing this as a joint event, it made it lots of fun as it might have felt like a chore alone. Between us we've made Recurrant Jelly, Redcurrant and Victoria Plum Jam, Wild plum jam, Blackberry Jam and Apple infused in Wild Cherry Jam. Thank you Tamara and Dori (especially for the horrible job of scrubbing labels off jars, that was all you two)
    - Lots of people have chopped and helped preparing meals.
    Thank you for making some delicous meals from your country for me (and sometimes my friends too):
    Matus - Slovak meat balls
    Joanie - pasta
    Linh - Vietnamese Chicken noodle soup, and Vietnamese Chicken Curry
    Antonio - Spanish omelette, and Whisky Chicken (actually with wine and cream)
    Alessandro and Giovanni - Spagetti Carbonara, Penne a la Sheffieldese ;-) and lots of delicious Pizza

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Some french and spanish. A very little german.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a single bed in your own room. Bedding provided.
    If you come with a platonic friend and would prefer to share a room, I have a room with two single beds, but there is not a huge amount of space.
    The bathroom is shared.
    I have internet access and wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearby Peak district is perfect for hiking and climbing, or just a beautiful stroll, if that's more your cup of tea.

    Sheffield has many interesting museums and art galleries, as well as pubs and clubs. I don't drive and am happy with the public transport in Sheffield. My home is about 4 minutes walk from a busstop with buses into town every ten minutes or so (10min journey); or if you prefer a 6 min walk across the park, you can get the tram into town.

    There are regular trains if you wanted a day trip to London, Manchester or York.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week, but can negotiate which times and days











Host ref number: 135782144121