Help me with gardening, house maintenance and a restoration project near Ceide Fields, Ballina, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a beautiful, rugged coastal village in County Mayo, in the house my husband and I built together over twenty years ago. Since he died in 2020 I've been struggling to keep on top of the maintenance of our house and lovely garden.

    I do love company and occasionally offer B&B in the peak summer months. I would welcome some company and practical help around the house and in return I can offer full board and an ensuite double room.

    If you are a digital nomad or studying archeology, have a passion for walking, surfing or are looking for artistic inspiration then my part of the world is the place for you. Happy to welcome friendly people who are handy with paint brushes and lawn mowers, and want to experience Ireland at its most authentic.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My house sits on the Atlantic coast in one of the most picturesque parts of Ireland (and Europe!) On our doorstep is the Wild Atlantic Way with its spectacular walks, beaches, coastline. We are close to incredible blue flag beaches that offer horse riding and surfing.
    Very close by is the Ballinglen Artists community and gallery. If you are looking for a landscape to inspire your creativity, be it writing, painting or photography, you will thrive here. On the door step is the renowned neolithic site, Ceide Fields, along with many other archeology digs, so this is a great place for students and enthusiasts.
    I have a beautiful, welcoming home and can offer you good company, lovely food and an opportunity to experience a truly authentic Irish Workaway.

  • Help

    Help

    In the late spring/early summer I need help with exterior painting and decorating, with gardening and general grounds maintenance. The winters can be very harsh here so my home and outbuildings always need a bit of TLC every year. Jobs can vary from repainting/weatherproofing sheds, painting walls, replacing rotten wood, cutting turf, pressure hosing, weeding and if you have electrical skills that would be grand!
    We also have plans to convert the old stone house into a remote workspace for digital nomads like those in my family. If you would like to help with this restoration project, you'd be very welcome - especially if you have any stone masonary (dry stone walling) experience and roofing skills.

    Ideal skills/criteria:
    Own vehicle
    Woodworking/carpentry
    Electrics
    Landscaping/gardening
    Decorating
    Dry Stone Walling

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A very comfortable four bedroom house offering ensuite double accommodation. We have a conservatory overlooking the Atlantic ocean and a sauna (quite unique in this part of Ireland). I will provide full-board to my Workaway guests, which will include a full Irish breakfast at weekends and at least one hot meal a day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is preferable for my guests to have their own transport. I do not own a car, and truly live in a remote and rural idyll. My neighbours are kind and helpful and I can arrange for occasional lifts. There is a bus that goes from the village into the local large town Ballina. Without your own car you will be very limited to where you can travel while you are in this beautiful part of Ireland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have perfect connectivity (for such a rural location). My son in law is a software developer and works regularly from here. The conservatory is a perfect office and we are also restoring an old stone house and turning it into a remote working space.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of room on my property for campervans and motorhomes and even the odd brave camper!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have three outdoor cats but they keep themselves to themselves. You are welcome to bring well behaved pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 135682619223