Help with donkeys in ancient, picturesque village of Clovelly in Devon, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 959 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    107  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    429

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Sue and Bart Kelly.We own and look after the working donkeys of Clovelly, our ancient, picturesque village in Devon. It is famous for it's steep cobbled street and it's donkeys. At the moment we have 12 donkeys and two mules. We use them for giving rides to children, being photographed by tourists, carrying things and going to ceremonies and fetes. We train our donkeys by natural horsemanship, particularly Parelli, and we do Horse agility and a bit of clicker training too. Our life revolves around caring for the donkeys and keeping up their stables and fields- which are always in need of maintainance - and working the donkeys with the public, talking to the public and telling them all about the donkeys. We are interested in natural horsemanship and improving life for all working donkeys around the world. We have lots of experience as we have been keeping donkeys here since 1981.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very experienced donkey keepers and can teach you everything we know about keeping donkeys happy and healthy in England. Sue studies Parelli Natural Horsemanship and has passed her Parelli Level 1 test and also does Horse Agility at First Level so we can give you a taste of those things although we are not qualified to teach them.

    Sue is also qualified as a saddler and can teach leatherwork and saddlery repairs.

    Bart does many jobs around the place and is happy to teach building work, renovation and car maintainence.

    At quiet times of the year we love to host people who are trying to improve their English as we can help with that. Bart speaks a little French too.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love help with all the things we do now as well as some new things. This would include stablework, tack cleaning, grooming and general helping with the donkeys, light building work to restore and maintain our Victorian stable yard, painting, in the field including repairing fencing, some gardening and We are an untidy lot and would welcome help with general housework too.

    We spend a lot of time talking to people who visit our yard, answering their questions and telling them about the donkeys. Our busiest time is the school holidays from the end of July to September and then we need dynamic and motivated helpers who are happy speaking English - though our visitors are often pleasantly surprised when our helpers also speak other languages ! By Workaway rules you cannot help us with any 'business' activities, such as giving donkey rides (for which we charge money) but there are lots of other jobs !

    From Easter to July and September to November we are more relaxed and have more time to talk to people and do more things with the donkeys such as Horse Agility, rides in the woods and donkey training days. We are happy for helpers to have a go at teaching new things to the donkeys.

    In the winter we are not officially open to the public and WE enjoy the donkeys. The down side is that they lie in the stables at night as the fields are too wet for them and so we have a lot of stablework to do - mucking out and sweeping. However our time is our own and we are completely flexible about our hours.

    As we are open to the public we have to comply with safety regulations and so need our helpers to be over 18. We don't need you to be experienced with donkeys or horses and will give you all necessary training but we are very happy if you do have experience too.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are offering a room or rooms in our large, untidy house.(We spend our time tidying up after the donkeys !)It's lovely in the summer but very cold in the winter but we have a good sitting room fire and hope you will join us there!
    We will feed you too - Bart usually does the cooking but you would be welcome to do your own if you prefer. We eat breakfast, tea and dinner and don't eat lunch but you can make sandwiches to take with you if you like.
    We have internet access by wired ethernet and wifi but it is a very low signal area and the connection is often slow. It is an area where the mobile phone signal is weak.
    We share the bathrooms and have a shower and bath available as well as washing machine and tumble drier.
    We are non-smokers and ask that our guests don't smoke in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a beautiful rural area of Devon, surrounded by farms, in an area classed as Outstanding Natural Beauty. There is lots of cycling and walking and easy access to beaches and to the South-west coast path which goes all round Devon and Cornwall. There are plenty of tourist attractions, mostly related to things to do with nature as well as historic towns and places and museums and gardens. There are several horse riding centres nearby and of course lots of holiday attractions and holiday parks.
    There are pubs, clubs and cinemas in Barnstaple and Bideford
    However we are relatively isolated and public transport is not very good so it's not easy to go far without your own car. There are 3 busses daily to Bideford and one to Bude which go past our entrance and can be caught in Clovelly too. There are trains from Barnstaple but the times can make it difficult to get back to Clovelly in one day.
    We can lend bicycles and refelctive jackets etc
    We are happy to arrange days off so that everyone gets to do things they are interested in (including us ! ) and if we are going to an event helpers are welcome to come too. Some events do charge entrance fees, some don't.

    British weather is notorious for being changeable and unpredictable so come prepared for anything ! Actually we can lend waterproofs and Wellingtons but gloves and warm clothes are good things to bring.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    If not too big !

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We are happy with pets but please be aware that donkeys chase dogs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    no more than 5 hours per day, 5 days per week

Donk and Baby Peter with his Mum
Rupert, Sinead,Sarah, Kiwi,Molly and Peter
Palm Sunday in Clovelly Village
Coming home from the field
Rupert the Mule
Bart riding Sarah
Workawayers riding our big donkeys
Charlie up to mischeif
A winter ride in the Hobby Drive
Bart with sunbathing donkeys in the Stableyard
Donkey rides in the Meadow. Jana with Charlie and Jake
Donkey Rides in the meadow. Sue with Charlie and Jasper
Our house behind Pierre
Sue with Noah and Welly going to a wedding
Bart with Pierre
Clovelly Village
Street Photos on the Royal Wedding day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.3)














































































Host ref number: 135213179261