Help on a self sufficient organic farm in the alps, south of Grenoble, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 784 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    Our small farm is at 800m of altitude in the alps, 30mn south of Grenoble. We have no near neighbours and a beautiful view. We did hosting in the past. Our main goal is to try to be self sufficient in energy and food.

    We ask you for 5 hours of help on what we need. For the rest of the day, you can do what you want, including nothing, but we can also help you on a specific project you want to do here for the farm (for example a wood construction or something you want to learn, more generally something which take more time to teach than to do by ourselves ;-) ).
    Also family with children between 4 to 8 years old are welcomed in july and August, Elio (6 years old) and Prunelle (4 years old) will be happy to meet new friends !

    The farm building with glasses and straw balls walls and transparent roof will integrate the sheep house, vegetables( for winter) and tropical and citrus trees for summer and our straw ball house. The goal is to stay at a minimum of 1°C even with -20°C outside.

    We need people autonomous, practical , resourceful and very motivated !

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️FRANCAIS*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    Bonjour,

    Notre ferme en agriculture biologique vend des légumes, du pain et des agneaux. A coté, nous essayons de produire un maximum de chose qui nous permettent d'être en quasi autonomie alimentaire (fruitiers, fromage de chèvre, volailles, champignons, miel, poissons et depuis peu une petite plantation d'agrumes et de bananier sous notre nouveau batiment.
    Nous sommes autonome (sauf tracteurs) en énergie avec des panneaux solaires, turbine hydraulique, réacteur Jean Pain et du biogaz qui nous permet de faire rouler notre voiture au GNV (JeanPhilippe a écrit un livre "biogaz-manuel pratique" pour expliquer le fonctionnement et les techniques pour le réaliser en autoconstruction)
    Il y a beaucoup de choses différentes sur la ferme, aussi vous serez amené à toucher à beaucoup de domaines si vous vous le sentez.
    On aime bien prendre le temps de bien manger (on fait chacun son tour à manger)
    On a besoin de gens motivés et autonomes !

    See you
    jeanPhilippe, Elio, Prunelle

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our small farm, out of the grid, is self sufficient 90% for food (vegetables, sheeps, goat cheese, chickens, bees, muchrooms, bread, fruits, porc and fishes) and almost 100% for energy (solar panels, hydraulic turbine, 16m² solar dish, réacteur Jean Pain (biomeiler), biogas for cooking and run the car ! Jean Philippe wrote a book on biogas "manuel pratique". Also an electric car to use the wasting energy of the solar panels when main batteries are full.
    All is little and mainly for our self-sufficiency but we sell lambs, bread, eggs and vegetables on the farm once a week. All the farm has been built by ourselves, with some ideas of permaculture.
    So you can learn and practice a lot of different things here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in farming, , taking care of sheep in the moutain, constructing, mainly with wood and share our life (cooking for example)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A little wood house with water/light/gas or a caravan under trees. Toilets are dry.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is many moutains for climbing, a lake and a beautiful river near the farm. Grenoble is 30mn from here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Elio is now a 5 years old shepherd
In the moutain with the sheeps
Elio let this nice sheep sleeping with her lamb !
The farm in 2017
Elio is annoying his young sister
Elio take a bath under bananas trees in the green house
Elio is learning maraichage

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)























Host ref number: 134389649192