Want to teach English and enjoy the real Italian way of life? Join our Family! Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 179 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    +++Looking for an English mother-tongue person starting from OCTOBER for two or more months.

    We are excited to share our way of life with someone that studied or is studying to be a psychologist, teacher or something similar (Summer Camps, Boy Scouts, Sport Activities). Students are welcome.

    Please keep reading for more info :O)

    Ciao,

    We are an Italian family with a 11 YO kid. We're looking for an English mother-tongue girl/boy that is keen to teach English to Federico, play with him in English correct his grammar and positively engage him in lively activities.

    We love learning about other cultures and we hope you will share some of your background with us!
    Hospitality and cultural interaction are essential values in our family, so you will be actively involved in our daily life.

    We live in Cinisello Balsamo, North of Milan, between Monza and Milan (20 minutes from Porta Garibaldi and Centrale railway stations) in a big flat surrounded by parks and very close to shops, cafes and important cultural centres.

    We enjoy outdoors activities such as sailing, cycling, scuba diving and camping. We are Yoga beginners.

    Over the past years, we have been travelling through South America (we visited Ecuador, Chile, Cuba, Argentina, Guatemala), Europe and USA. For this reason Federico is fluent in Spanish and he is learning English.

    Federico attends the Montessori School in Milan. He likes open air activities, donkeys, horses, trains, reading books, building towers with Lego, trips to the park, listening to music and being creative. He practices sailing, yoga for kids, rides horses and was a boy scout. He is accustomed to live in an international environment and to spend time with people from different backgrounds. He attended a YMCA Camp in Michigan (USA) and some summer camps in Spain (Europe).

    We are members of SERVAS, an international, non-profit organization that promotes trust, tolerance, open-mindedness and respect. We are hosts in Italy and we are frequently hosted by families of this association abroad because we love experiencing the real life of the country we are visiting and sharing our time with locals.
    We volunteered for one month in an NGO in Guatemala working with youths and adults with difficulties and disabilities.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We think that being a workawayer member is a chance for people of different backgrounds to learn from and help one another.

    Our family loves to gain lifelong friends. If you like to experience a true Italian life style and discover the hidden secrets of our country, we suggest you to stay as longer as possible.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone responsible, able to show initiative who genuinely loves children. You will speak with Federico only in English correcting his grammar mistakes. Ideally you will be a positive person, talkative and ready to play with fun and common sense (no TV, smartphones, video games and videos).

    As a member of the family you will contribute to keep your things and room tidy, help with some daily household activities such as preparing easy meals for you and Federico when you are at home alone and some grocery shopping if needed. You will experience a true Italian family life while helping us, discovering how Italy looks like from locals.

    We don't need any other specific help.
    We all work together to create a happy household and encourage Federico to help out and develop his independence.

    You are welcome to join us when we escape the city to go to Como Lake during the week ends, but if you wish to travel around Italy, while you are here, we encourage and help you.

    YOU'LL BE BUSY FOR 4-5 HOURS A DAY

    Before getting in touch with us please note: smoking, alcohol, party animal / night life are not appreciated. Sports, teaching degree or volunteer activities are gladly accepted. If you are a student please don't keep in touch with us if you are looking for a cheap accommodation only!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French and Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom - the bathroom is shared with us (we have two bathrooms). We provide an Italian mobile SIM card, free internet access and a bike. The apartment is located 5 minutes walk from public transports.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our position is interesting because in 1,30 hour by train you can be in Como Lake, Switzerland and spend there your free time, in less than 30 minutes you can be in front of the Duomo (one of the oldest and biggest cathedrals in the world). From Milan you can reach Florence, Rome, Venice and a lot of other beautiful cities in a couple of hours by train. The most beautiful towns in Europe like Paris, London, Prague, Madrid, Vienna, Berlin are reachable with a one/two hours flight (or even less) with low cost airlines.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

We love traveling!
YMCA Camp Mystic Lake - USA
Volunteering as a waiter - Guatemala
Volunteering in Alma De Colores NGO - Guatemala
Riding a horse in the Argentina's Pampa
Helping friends in a farm - Argentina
A village on Como Lake - Italy
Federico best friends: donkeys !

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 133318711316