A Somerset Family Home- South West England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 376 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband & I both work; building treehouses and in landscape design & earth energies.
    We love the outdoors and have a home in beautiful countryside.
    It is quite an remote here, we have some woods. It is beautiful.
    Theres wondeful creative small town to explore and incredible landscape. there is a strong young community here, so its a fun place to be.

    Our kids are both really sweet and fun to play with - 7 & 4 yrs. We love music and we would be delighted if someone coming would play or teach an instrument. or movement / yoge. We love it all!

    Our animals are: 1 nice dog, 2 comedy chickens, 1 black rabbit.

    In our free time we like the seaside, camping, being in nature, seeing friends & family & some exploring. We also love music, dancing, yoga, climbing & surfing.

    We have a spare car, so its useful if you are a driver.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Wow, there is a great number of exciting places and people around here.
    We are not near nightclubs :) but we dont miss them! We have the stars and fires, and interesting times.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a simple garden and natural woodland to take care of, and 2 boys (4 & 7), and busy work lives so that we need some extra help with housework such as laundry and cooking. We are sometimes vegan and often paleo, and gluten free. nutrition and awesome food is important to us. We love awesome nutritious food!

    Couples are very welcome. :)

    The most help we need is looking after the house, garden and pets and helping have fun with the boys. Theres plenty of space here in the week for your own freetime and adventures.

    The boys go to school - local steiner - warldorf school. But we need some kid backup - giving them dinner, taking them on an adventure, etc. Otherwise, help in the house - the laundry and the kitchen, or in the garden, mowing the lawn, weeding flower beds, clearing the woods. We have some garden/building/treehouse projects going on, so we like people who are happy to get involved!

    Help would typically mostly include childcare, with some gardening, help in the woods, maybe a dog walk (beautiful!), and help with the housework , tidying and sorting, & cooking. Maybe painting a room? Simon likes practical help in the garden, garage and or building new treehouses if its something you are passionate about.
    We are interested in fun engaging care for the kids; music, nature, activites, sport. There is so much potential and we would love to see our kids having safe fun in your care.

    If you can drive we have a car for you to use, to help with the school runs, shopping and taking the children places, but also good for exploring.

    We have love great nutritious organic wholefood for the whole family.
    We love the offer of help for cooking meals & better family nutrition and we aim for best nutrition for everyone. We love cooking vegetarian mostly - and love it if you like to cook too.

    Prefer applications for around 3-6weeks + for general equilibrium with the family.
    We hope anyone coming here has a responsible attitude, to looking after children and their environment, and also living in a busy young family. We do need lots of help and people who are flexible and hard working. We give a lot in return for you to have a happy experience with good memories and a feeling of living here as part of the family & community.
    The kids are really sweet and good fun. They are rays of sunshine :)
    Thank you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, basic French, kids learning mandarin & spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1 cosy double room & a shared bathroom with a shower & bath. - Suits a single person or a couple.

    Organic wholefoods, most diets catered for.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Fairly remote but beautiful setting; a family home with a beautiful woodland garden. Truly an inspirational area of Somerset.
    We can impart our knowledge of organic & bio-dynamic gardening, our love of plants and nature and our skills at building eco-buildings.
    You could improve your english language, and enjoy peace and naturalness of the area and our home.
    Plenty of beautiful places near here to explore; gardens, arts, but also lovely small Somerset towns, like Frome, Bruton, Wells and Bath.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hrs / 5 days








Host ref number: 132845285343