1 / 5

Experience life on the land in Sao Teotonio, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 46 times
  • Last activity: 27/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    In 2017 we traveled as a family of 4 (Myrthe, Marnix and our two girls) from Amsterdam to Portugal in our Volkswagen van not knowing what this adventure would bring us. Not even half a year later we ended up buying a beautiful rural land (30 years untouched) and decided to settle in Portugal. Poço de Mesa, the name of our land, literally meaning table on the well has given us the greatest journey we've ever experienced. Its a beautiful land facing the Atlantic Ocean in the South-West Alentejo coast, close to the boarder of the Algarve. We fell in love with its views, the variety of vegetation and the beautiful community living around.

    to shortly introduce ourselves:

    Me, Myrthe, just turned 38 (even though still feeling 25 most of the time). I used to work in marketing/communication and creative productions. Even though I had a beautiful life in Amsterdam something was missing and that thing I found here. In my life here I love to connect people, organising and be part of beautiful small and big gathering, I love designing and make everything look beautiful

    Marnix, just turned 46 and had the dream off living this life since I first met him, probably even before. Marnix used to live a life a a film producer and decided to sell his company in 2018 to fully focus on our life here. He loves to provide and make sure everyone can be and flow best.

    Mila, our oldest daughter, just turned 9 years old. She is sweet, creative, very precise (by times a little too much of a perfectionist), loves drawing, designing and loves Reva and Roxy (our dog and cat)

    Yuna, our youngest, is 5 years old and a real show pony, She is hilarious and passionated and loves to draw attention with her dance moves. She knows exactly what She wants and really goes for it.

    We were and are determined to living the off the grid life with comfort while enjoying the beauty of nature. The development of the land is a school of life in itself and we are doing pretty well. After clearing a lot of the bush we started landscaping according to the permanent culture design pillars. In the first years we have builded on the infrastructure and the important systems such as our borehole, filtering installation, solar power, storage, working station and outdoor facilities that allowed us to spend our summers on the land. For 4 years we would rent a family house during the winters and in the summer we would live in an amazing 8 diameter teepee with an outdoor kitchen, bathroom and chill out.

    Only since the summer of 2021 we are able to live on our land permanently in the largest yurt ever made in Portugal. Our way of doing things is that when we do it we do it right. This manifest itself in how we work with people, how our systems are working and in the aesthetics of what we make. Our biggest goal is to inspire and amaze the people that visit our land with hopefully in return a lot of new inspiration and good vibes.

    We submitted a project for a rural tourism but we didn't obtain a building permit yet. Meanwhile we are developing the land more and more, thinking fruit-and foodgardens, building tiny-homes and spaces.

    Also we love to host inspiring events. Last summer we organised a dine and stargazing night with over 75 people fine dining on our land followed up with a interactive stargazing session hosted by an astrophysics teacher who brought his massive telescope for us to get a closer look to the moon, Jupiter and Saturn while enjoying over 25 shooting stars as the meteorite storm was going on during this night. Among many other small gatherings we hosted a beautiful intimate little festival with great artists and DJ-s. We danced the night away and sent some love into the universe. And there is more to come......

    This life truly is a dream but with more help we can build on that dream even more and make life more joyful as it already is.

    We aim for longer periods to work with work-away people. We do like to evaluate after 3 weeks to see if both parties still want to continue working together.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    learning about permanculture and off grid living, meeting beautiful community and celebrating life through nice events and gatherings.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are (preferably) looking for a couple that loves to work hard and play hard. People that love to spend time with us and our crew, but also like their time alone. I mention this because as much as we love to socialise and spend time with others, we also need our family time in order to keep the balance.

    In a land like this there is a lot of ongoing maintenance and a lot of new projects to work on. I would love people that have affinity with building (also stage building for festivals), gardening, sometimes just physical work on the land. Loving to cook or spend time with kids will also be of great help. Even thought I (Myrthe) love to cook and love my children some support in that is very much welcome.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    classic Mercedes 508 camper van. This campervan is parked on our land very close to the outdoor kitchen and bathroom area. The Mercedes campervan has a bunk bed (for two separate people) but also offers the possibility to convert the table/seating area into a giant kingsize bed. The mercedes offers a kitchenette with a gaspit and has plenty of cupboards to store clothes etc. During summer I am certain that this van is only to be used for sleeping and maybe some free time activities but the facilities such as our outdoor kitchen and bathroom are just a perfect place to spend time and have fun. Enjoying a solar powered hot shower overlooking the mountains with Oceanview, or taking a cool bath, playing music and chilling in the outdoor living. Cooking in a fully equipped kitchen. It really is a paradise place.


    Myself (as a host) will be cooking a lot of the times for my crew but if I'm not cooking myself, we will make sure to either fill the outdoor fridge and freezer with enough food so workawayers can cook for themselves, also we will probably take them out for lunch or dinner sometimes. We have a beautiful outdoor kitchen where the workawayers can cook and the Classic Mercedes campervan also has a gaspit to prepare stuff in case the weather is bad. In terms of diet restrictions. My family is not vegan or vegetarian but still I cook vegetarian most of the time, also I am an experienced housechef and I Love good quality food. What I prepare myself will be nourishing, healthy and by most people experienced as yummy. Sometimes I prepare the easy to make guilty pleasure stuff that maybe not so healthy but sometimes just nice (think hamburgers, hot dogs) always accompanied by a healthy salad.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time there is lots of things to explore in the area such as amazing walking tracks along the Costa Vincentina, Surfing is one of the things people here do most. Me and Marnix, we don't surf but lots of our friend and neighbours do so always possibility to hook up. The season is starting now so every weekend there will be some things going on and we can inform you about that. Your own transport woud be beneficial but if you don't have it we can provide a vehicle to make little trips with.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 123777573341

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help with starting an off-grid land project in São Miguel, Azores, Portugal
DIY, foresting & gardening in Alentejo (& also housesitting), Portugal