Come to sunny Sardinia, Italy and help support the everyday life of my creative 30 year old brother



Favourited 116 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    Stay in the wonderful island Sardinia, Italy, near the beautiful sea side and help at our home staying with Antony, a young artist and help him in everyday (sunny) life

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Help


    Dear volunteers, we are a little family from Sardinia. I'm Monica, and my younger brother will live in the same house of you, his name is Antony. He has 30 years old, it's a very nice guy and in a way is different from the mainstream of our society. He is an artist, he likes to playing guitar and paint. When he was seventeen he had a teenager crisis of identity, that was called later bipolar disorder. It is difficult still nowadays to find a really good and effective care for him. But we don't want that he lives in a community already, because he has to spend a nice life and his disturb, if it is well treated, it's not affecting the everyday life. What we wish its to find someone that can stay for a short or longer period in the house with him, and helping him to don't forget his target of everyday, for instance keeping clean the house, studying a bit, don't forget to take his treatment, go out for buy good food, cook together following a diet, have nice time, perhaps learning English could be good. But he has many talent so you will find something good to do together. So he will be in good company! This is my wish, this idea was born in me following the thought of the great psychiatrist Laing that tried to make possible for this special persons a normal life without being condemned by the society and marginalized perhaps in asylums.

    If you have interest in psychology, sociology, anthropology this could be a very important field experience with human beings, over then a work away. I hope you will be interested about this great human experience. I hope to meet you there in Cagliari when I came to visit my brother, now I'm living abroad, but you can count on me for everything. Thank you!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Italian: Fluent
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Nice apartment near the historical centre of Cagliari, always sunny and close to the sea. The volunteers will have their own room and they can use every facilities in the house. The place it's very calm and cosy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is first time that we think about this possibility. I think it is really possible to make true. We would like that the volunteer feel engaged in path that will help to make really possible one life "normal", like this one of my brother. My expectation is that the volunteer will communicate the progress that they make with my brother and will make a plan together for how to spend the time and to reach some targets. You can contact me for everything, every question and thing to do and to know about my brother life. His life style I think will be changing a lot with someone very nice as volunteer, company, but more as friend!
    In their free time volunteers can visit the amazing capital of Sardinia, Cagliari, going to the sea, get in the cultural and social life in Cagliari and visiting the whole Sardinia, which is really beautiful and fascinating.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 121955425716