Help with bikes in the beautiful Gorges du Tarn in southern France



Favourited 61 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a small bicycle hire franchise based in the beautiful Gorges du Tarn in Lozere in southern France. We rent out all types of bikes from mountain bikes to road bikes etc, with all accessories. We also deliver and collect bikes from people's holiday locations e.g. campsites and hotels. We maintain our bikes in between each rental period.

    We are a couple in our fifties with pets and no children, and we currently run the business from our home. We love cycling and the area is fantastic for both road cycling and mountain biking. There is also great canoeing and walking here, with lovely warm and sunny weather (mostly!)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be staying in a very traditional part of rural southern France, where there are very few ex-pats. You will be immersed in the French culture, food, language and customs. You will have an opportunity to pick up some French and learn about rural France. For nature lovers there is some fantastic wildlife to study including vultures, beavers and mouflon.

    You will learn how to clean, service and repair bikes including road bikes, mountain bikes, e-bikes, tandems etc.

  • Help


    We are a very tiny business and cannot afford to pay a wage, but can offer a lot of great experiences in return.

    We are looking for someone to help with bike cleaning/servicing and maintenance mostly. Some delivery and collection possibly and maybe some customer interaction if you are able to speak French.

    You don't need any particular experience, but it would help if you were good with your hands and quite strong! This opportunity would suit someone who is keen on cycling and bikes, and who would like to spend their spare time cycling. The area is fantastic for road cycling as well as mountain biking and you can use our bikes to go riding.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, german and a little Dutch

  • Accommodation


    We have a spare room in our house with a double bed on a mezzanine level and a small room that we use as an office. As we run an 'outdoor office' during the summer we do not actively use the space very much, but will need access to files etc occasionally. You will have your own bathroom and a fridge and microwave as well as coffee and tea-making facilities in your room.

    The house and business are based in a small hamlet very close to the river, with beautiful views towards the other side of the gorge. There are no shops in the hamlet, but we are just 5kms away from Ste Enimie which is the tourist centre of the Gorges du Tarn with shops, bars and restaurants.

    You will eat with us, but please note that we are vegetarian! You can get great typically French meals in nearby Ste Enimie.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can have use of any of our rental bikes. If you like road cycling, this is a fantastic area to explore by bike. You can also canoe here. You can either rent a canoe to do a descent where you are collected by bus at the end, but we also have our own canoe that you can use for messing about on the calm stretch of river by the house. There are also lots of walks to do here - you can even borrow our dog! Also lots of fantastic swimming spots here.

    You can also visit the many beautiful villages here in the gorges or up on the plateaus. There are lots of things to see in Ste Enimie such as the old abbey and the hermitage, as well as craft shops and bars & restaurants.

    The weather here in the summer can be very hot, sometimes with thunderstorms.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 111627319923