Stephen

  • Neuseeland
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Tätigkeiten, die mich interessieren:

    Meeting new people is my primary interest

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    New Zealand - von Nov 2022 bis Apr 2023
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    Hi,

    Stephen here.

    I am 61 years old (at time of writing) and have now had two Workaway experiences.

    Both have involved preparatory work in gardens so I have become very good at wrangling wheelbarrows; some 30 cubic metres worth of shoveling, barrowing and tipping. It was a good, hard-working summer.....

    That said, I hope that the remainder of what you will read here is of interest.


    **** Please note: I am unavailable for Workaway projects until April 2023 ****


    I hail from New Zealand and also carry Australian and French citizenship.

    English is my mother tongue and I have passable French and beginner-level Spanish.

    I am widowed (early 2022) with two young adult children. They love the fact that I am doing Workaway and that is important to me. They appreciate the irony of the role reversal that it is I who have the adventures to recount to them.

    My work-life has taken many twists and turns and these stories can be recounted at another time. For the moment, the important things you need to know about me are these....


    Practical skills, experience and qualifications:

    - I have renovated two houses: small alterations in one; a completely new kitchen, bathroom, toilet and laundry in the other. I did the design and the woodwork: studs and panels. Professionals did all the plumbing and electrical work. This was quite some time ago but I guess it's like riding a bike.....

    - More recently I converted a semi-trailer into a mobile home. Again, I did all the design work, calculated material needs and made the purchases and arranged delivery. I had help with the welding but used the grinder, circular saw, drill and rivet gun as needed. I am very good at holding up lengths of steel as they are welded in place...... ;-)

    - I have dug gardens and worked in an kiwifruit orchard building framing and lugging old steel framing out for collection. Commercial cleaning, hoeing tobacco, pulling weeds, and general property maintenance also figure in my experience.

    - I have a heavy vehicle license (truck and trailer) with forklift, wheels, tracks and rollers endorsements and a dangerous goods permit. These are quite recent so there is not a great deal of experience in this domain. While they may not be entirely relevant they demonstrate an attention to detail and a willingness to learn new skills.

    - Early in my career I served as a Naval Officer and still remember how to navigate, both coastal and open ocean.


    Intellectual skills, experience and qualifications:

    - I hold a degree in Surveying and an MBA in Strategy and Innovation (whatever that means).

    - Much of my professional work involved organisational design and change, requiring careful negotiation between conflicting viewpoints. My focus was on the human side of technical project implementations.

    - I have written a book (self-published) and maybe one hundred articles on the subject.

    - I have Chaired boards of non-profit organisations, saving one from bankruptcy and closing down another. Again, these required significant negotiation skills and lots and lots of patience.


    Cultural skills, experience and qualifications:

    - I am well-travelled, having lived and worked in eight different countries (Australia, New Zealand, France, Switzerland, Denmark, Sri Lanka, Angola and Fiji) and visited perhaps 35 more. I am happy in my own company, do not need supervision (once tasks have been explained to me) and am a self-starter keen to see a job through to completion and then, well-done.

    - Happy to help with your English, conversational or business, spoken and written. And keen to improve my other languages.

    - I have trained as a Waldorf (Steiner) School teacher and have some experience teaching upper school mathematics

    - I have trained as a Bach Practitioner (Bach Flower Remedies) Level 3 and am happy to help using these should you feel the need.

    - I played the piano as a child and, at last sitting (some years ago now), could still sight-read.

    - I am now the proud owner of a bass ukelele because.... why not?


    I am careful, methodical and a quick learner. "Measure twice, cut once" makes a lot of sense to me as does doing something right the first time....

    It pleases me to finish what I have started and craftsmanship, "doing a job well for its own sake" is important to me....

    Trust this is enough to start a conversation, I look forward to talking with you and hearing your stories.

    Many thanks,
    Stephen

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Fitness
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Tischlerarbeiten
    Sprachen
    Architektur
    Kunst & Design
    Zeichnen & Malen
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Schreiben
    Bücher
    Musik
    Fotografie
    Blogging
    Astronomie
    Kochen & Backen
    Kultur
  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Keen to teach/coach English: conversational to business, both written and spoken. Practising my own French and being in a Spanish-speaking environment would be nice.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Unterrichten

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Kunstprojekte
    Karitative Arbeit
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Gartenarbeiten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Sprachen
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Practical skills:
    - handling small power tools
    - big gardening work (digging, cutting, building)
    - housework (vacuuming, cleaning)
    - basic renovations and building (keen to learn more)
    - surface preparation and painting
    - driving heavy machinery (limited experience and specific guidance will be needed)

    Cultural skills:
    - teaching / coaching mathematics up to, say, end of high school
    - Bach Practitioner (flower remedies)
    - water colour painting

    Intellectual skills:
    - bookkeeping
    - intermediate-level computer maintenance and operations
    - business plan writing

    I'm okay with my hands and learn quickly, show me what to do and I'll do it. If I don't understand, I'll ask.

  • Alter

    62

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Feedback


Freunde

Fotos

Feedback