Learn about off-grid living near Langport, England

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 193 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.11.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    306

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are situated 14 miles south of Glastonbury down a bumpy track and away from the masses . Here we have about 2.5 acres .
    We are however only 2 miles from a small town with a whole food shop, 2 bakers , 2 butchers selling Local meat and a couple of charity shops along with a few other shops .
    I live in a non load bearing straw bale House. I have a timber chalet with a wood fired hot tub that is a successful holiday let .
    We also have a lovely sauna that is available for folk that are staying here .

    In the garden we have polly tunnel which was initiated by a lovely woman called Tess in January 2019. Unfortunately in August 2019 Tess left this Earth on to the next adventure . Tess has however left her mark here on the place and she will always be remembered.

    My lovely lady , Sarah and I have expanded on Tesses work . Sarah also teaches horticulture courses in person and online .

    There are always tasks to be done in the vegetable gardens and in the polly tunnel, and when it’s harvest time there is plenty of pickling and preserving to be done in our purpose built field kitchen .

    All the building were built by me and some with the help of a friends and Workaways that became friends .

    I also have a fab wood working workshop with a few machines in it along with another Worksop with all sorts in.

    We are totally off grid with all our power coming from the sun , and the occasional top up of power via an old lister generator in the winter. I’m about to add a 1kw English made wind turbine to the system ( Sep 2021)
    Our water is from a bore hole which is just the best water .
    I’m always up to stuff , be it building or creating something .


    My daughter jasmine Occasionally stays here .

    I also have two kinda grandchildren, Sam (13) who now lives here full time in the tree house and Ryan (8) who stays every other weekend.
    When they are both here I try and go out and do things with them like go to the beach for a walk or maybe pop over to Glastonbury and walk up the Tor . Probably due another trip on the Local steam railway soon . Anyone helping out her can join us on most of these outings if they so wish. Never a dull moment ..

    Also ,some of you might be interested in that fact that I have walked two of the routs of the Camino de Santiago. I walked the 880km from St Jean Pied de Port in the Pyrenees to Finisterre and the following year ( 2017) I walked the Northern rout which starts in Irune,France .From here you walk 500km following the northern coast of Spain and then cut in land and followed the Primitive rout over the Picos de europa all the way to Santiago de Compestella . Most people just continue along the coast and then turn inland further on because they are scared of walking up the mountains and that their legs might pack up! Ha ha ... It's an apsolutly amazing walk over the mountains ..Anyway ...I'm a Pilgrim which is kinda what life is all about . ( I did not walk for religious reasons).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You’ll learn about off grid living . I’ve been off grid for 25 years so know what I’m doing pretty much these days. I am however still learning .
    Meeting local folk who have interesting lives.
    You’ll get to visit some great spots that only locals know about here on the Somerset levels near Glastonbury.
    I am trying to play the guitar and have a few other instruments, so if you fancy some jamming that would be great .

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The kind of tasks will be helping out with some gardening , help with some building or maybe do a bit of cooking / cleaning . Although I tend to clean my place .
    It will be interesting whatever your doing most the time with nice conditions. Varied help sums it up.
    Right now watering the veg and gardens, weeding , keeping the chickens fed and happy and cooking occasionally.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Caravan with wood burner and also a lovely cabin if it’s abilable .

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The town of Langport is 2 miles away where there is a bus stop. Although the Bus Service is to put it politely.. not that good.
    I go out a bit so you’ll be fine tagging along if you so wish .
    Plenty of walks around here .

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    WiFi here is mainly fine . It is via a mobile sim on the 3 network . Might not be great all the time for video calls.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Plenty of room for campervan here

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.8)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 783512775322