Bonnie

  • Kanada
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    zu Hause

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Mexico - von Nov 2021 bis Jan 2022
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    While reading the “Workaway Guide Book”, I felt an immediate connection to the website when I read the following words;
    ……a movement of adventurers, travelers…..... who are prepared to challenge boundaries and refuse to be ruled by the pursuit of material gain…........prioritize their freedom to live the life they really want to, and realize that being happy is intrinsically linked to helping others.
    Volunteering has always been part of my life; from serving on committees, fund raising and organizing events to working with immigrants in my city as an advocate, mentor and language coach.
    I worked at Medicine Hat College (Alberta, Canada) for over 30 years. I took an early retirement option from full time work so that I could pursue my love of traveling and learning Spanish.
    I have a very active lifestyle and that aspect is always incorporated into my travels in the form of long and short distance hiking and bicycle touring. I have walked four different routes of the Camino de Santiago in Spain, each time covering distances of 800+ kilometers. I met amazing people from all over the world and I am so grateful for how these encounters have enriched my life.
    During my first trip to Spain, I also volunteered with two WWOOF hosts and really enjoyed those experiences. I have had two Workaway positions so far. In 2017 I volunteered in a hostel for a month in Quetzaltenango, Guatemala and in 2018 I volunteered for over 2 months in a hostel in Riohacha.
    I am hoping to find a post where I can continue to study Spanish and learn about new cultures by becoming involved with people in the community.
    Besides hiking, cycling and running I also enjoy gardening, cooking, knitting, reading and spending time with family.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Karitative Arbeit

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Sprachpraxis
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Personal characteristics that help me succeed are:
    Proactive, pay attention to detail and manage time effectively.
    Ability to work in a busy atmosphere and respond quickly to requests.
    Reliable, dependable, trustworthy and an appreciation for learning new things.
    I work very well with other team members and independently.
    I am at ease meeting new people and always treat everyone with kindness and respect.
    I am organized and like to plan ahead, but can still tolerate a little chaos. I am a proficient cleaner, adventurous cook and creative gardener.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    71

  • Nationalität

    Canadian

  • Was noch ...

    During the fall of 2019 and winter of 2020, I plan to spend about 2 months in Mexico to avoid our freezing winter temperatures. This would allow me to take a long term volunteer position if, after a trial posting, the fit was right for both the host and myself. A longer term post would allow afford me the opportunity to continue to study Spanish and achieve my goal of becoming bilingual.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      no

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      no

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback