Gerard & Laraine

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Paar / zwei Freunde

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    USA

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    18.10.2017 - 22.05.2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    241

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Unser Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen


    Not your typical workawayers! We are a mature married couple who both recently hit 60, extremely young at heart, who enjoy the company of the younger people we have met through travelling.

  • Beschreibung

    Currently in Panama City will travel within the country.

    We are probably not your typical workawayers, we are a mature married couple who both recently hit 60 🥴 we are extremely young at heart, who enjoy the company of the younger people we have met through travelling.
    In May 2017 we both quit our jobs, and retired early, this was the start of our adventures, our journey has taken us to 34 countries so far.
    Ged was an award winning construction site manager and spent 30 years in construction starting his working life as a carpenter.
    Ged is a great organiser and natural problem solver and commits 100%
    Thanks to Ged's varied skills we always had an up to date modern home to live in we did all our own carpentry dry walling, ceramic tiling, wall papering, and painting and decorating.
    Ged is also a keen photographer a qualified first aider, and computer literate.
    We were both keen gardeners and spent a lot of our spare time creating and cultivating our lovely landscaped garden which included decking, fountains, terracing, and vegetable plot and raised beds.
    Laraine worked for most of her career in Oxford University as an accommodation officer.
    This involved arranging/organising accommodation for over 400 students living on campus and over 150 students living in Oxford in privately rented properties, the role was akin to being a hotel manager with responsibilities covering all aspects of hotel management.
    Laraine is computer literate and is comfortable with Excel spreadsheets etc, outside of work Laraine is extremely passionate about gardening and home improvement and was the driving force in turning a large scruffy yard into an immaculate landscaped garden.
    Laraine enjoys getting stuck in and does not mind getting dirty she is also a dab hand at a many aspects of building including wall paper stripping, sanding, painting and varnishing we like to work together and have become a very productive partnership.
    We are parents of one son who is an Electrician and adventurer who loves to travel and has done so extensively and is putting roots down in New Zealand.
    We are animal lovers and in the past have had our own dogs, cats, parrots, chinchillas, Tortoises, and tropical fish.
    We have on occasions provided house and pet sitting for workaway hosts who were taking vacation or away on business, we are always happy to hold the fort.
    We are both fit & healthy, (except for carrying a bit too much weight,) we take no medication, we enjoy walking and exploring on foot.
    When we can we like to swim, snorkel and scuba we both have our open water PADI certification, we are both non smokers, we both love good wine and good healthy food, we have reduced our meat consumption and try follow a vegetarian diet wherever we can without causing problems to hosts, some places it has been hard to impossible to do so - we are also fine with that.
    We also both possess British and two other international driving licences each
    We plan to keep traveling , meeting nice people, see new sights and add to our adventures
    We have no real plan, we can go anywhere the mood take us, but we want to be active
    We really want to see new sights and experience different culture and immerse ourselves more in the local life and customs, ( wherever it may be) working closer with nature if possible.
    We are both 100% trustworthy and take the greatest care of other people’s property and possessions , we like clean,organised and tidy, and everything neat.
    We have been a host family in Oxford for foreign students and travellers for over 20 years many of our students remain friends to this day.
    We have also both worked in 3 different pub/restaurants for over 10 years and ran and looked after them when the owners took holidays,, we have also managed several Airbnb’s, vacation rentals and a backpackers hostel.
    In the pubs we ran Laraine was cooking in the kitchen and helping out in the bar and Ged was running the bar and cellar, we have always been hardworking and for much of our early working life we both worked 2 jobs
    If you think we can help you in whatever project you are undertaking, regardless of where you are in the world, please get in touch, this may help us make some plans for our travelling, maybe we are destined to meet, who knows ?.
    We are happy to spend anything from 1 week to 1 month or maybe more anywhere in the world, there is no real plan, we are making it up as we go, please do not hesitate to make any sort of suggestion or offer.
    We both thank you in advance for taking the time to read this far , you can also view our web site here www.glhousesitters.com
    Laraine & Ged Mahon x

  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Seniorenbetreuung
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    We are a friendly mature married couple, carpenter by trade, painter, tiler, dry wall, gardening, most aspects of building and renovation, pool maintenance, problem solver, planner, organiser. computer admin, reception, hotel,office cooking, help with English,
    Reliable, trustworthy and adaptable, PADI scuba qualified.
    Since joining workaway we have undertaken several house and pet sits, references available.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    61 & 60

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Was noch ...

    We would like to get involved in projects where we can make a positive contribution, we would like to help out in any type of works or projects and come away with a sense of achievement
    We are looking for a complete change of lifestyle and environment, we are very quick to learn new skills, are up for a challenge and willing to try almost anything.
    We are hoping to have lots of fun as we travel the world.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No allergies, non smokers, moderate drinkers

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Fish, seafood and vegetables, little meat, we have 3 clean driving licences each UK and international

Fotos

Feedback