Permaculture and garden forest project on the land of a National Geographic photographer based in Palmela, Portugal

Country

Portugal

aktualisiert  

Bisher 183 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    60.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Matthieu. I have been a freelance photographer for 20 years, and an active National Geographic photographer for the last 10 years. My wife (she is German, we met in Indonesia) and I recently bought a beautiful land near Palmela, overlooking a valley called Vale dos Barris. During confinement, we improved the land with an irrigation water system (we have 2 springs), mud house, permaculture vegetable garden, pool made from an old water reservoir etc. We have olive and pomegranate trees and lots of bamboos. The land is a 10 mn drive from where we live.

    Please note:
    - right now we are only taking people in Nov/Dec 2020.
    - as it takes a couple of days to get familiarise with the project/land, it's nice to have people for a minimum of 2 weeks.

    During November and part of December 2020, we are working on the design and plantation of a forest garden on the lower part of land that comprises of 12 terraces and a couple of pond system. We are looking to host people during this period. We are planting several hundred trees to turn an empty land into a forest! So you must like physical work and be pro-active about it. So far, we have planted fruits trees, endemic species, vines etc. Now we are focusing on digging swales and planting acorns, tree cuttings, seeding etc We have a permaculture specialist, Joaquim, who help direct the project. This experience is a great opportunity to learn about food forest, Permaculture and sustainable living. Be warned that you must like physical work (we use garden hoes, wheelbarrows full of earth etc) and getting your hands muddy and please don't be shy to join in cooking, organize camp etc. Driver license would be a great add-on!

    Among other things we need to:
    - create swales and channels for planting seeds and stakes of endemic species
    - make outdoor kitchen and shower area
    - install a gravity water system from a spring

    We have 2 boys, Timo (9) and iluka (13). Both our kids are born on the road (one in Hong Kong, the other in Istanbul) and speak German, French, English and Portuguese. Our boys are home-schooled. We are a truly multicultural family, love sharing our travels (we have been to most countries in Asia) and we have been living since 2 years inside the Arrabida Nature Park, just 35mn south of Lisbon.

    ____

    More specific info on the project:
    We are implementing an agroforestry system based on the principles of syntropic agriculture (Ernst Gotsch). It will be an area where we will plant around 60 fruit trees stratified with trees and forest bushes. From plants, cuttings and seeds. Occupying from the emerging stratum to the very dense low stratum. As we are integrated in a natural park, we will implement only native and naturalized species, which is quite unique.
    In a more degraded and inclined area we will make channels following contour lines (called Swales) for direct sowing of trees and shrubs.
    We will have Joaquim, who will help direct the project. He has already implemented projects in permaculture and syntropic agriculture in the Mediterranean climate with endemic and native species. This experience will be a great opportunity to learn about syntropic agriculture in the Mediterranean context, permaculture and sustainable living.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have travel the world for the last 20 years and look forward to hearing about your life, and introduce you to the local markets, area etc. We are passionate about good food, music and world culture.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    - help work on design and plantation of Forest garden
    - Help with occasional cooking (we love cooking!), shopping etc
    - general housekeeping and basic building

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Depending on when you come, you will either stay with us at our home or on the land in our van (electricity, water, kitchen, all wood covered) or in a beautiful camping set-up.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are inside the Arrabida Nature Park, so it's a perfect place if you like nature.
    It's an exchange: we are excited to host you , and should you come with a respectful and positive attitude to help us and take part in the activities. We are looking forward to it! :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.5)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 571756146944