Join our island family and help with our home and garden in Victoria, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 48 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.02.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Family looking for kind volunteers to help with childcare, exploring and adventuring around our cute little island city together, and cleaning, cooking and gardening.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our family of four loves to meet new people and hear about their adventures and perspectives on the world. Our daughters (born in 2009 and 2012) are in French Immersion at school so practicing french (though they are shy) is a great opportunity for us. Practicing Spanish would also be fun!
    We have traveled a fair amount before we had our children, and with them, and love to dream about future journeys. We love to go adventuring around our little island city, and enjoy the beaches, parks, hikes, bike trails, unique cafes and restaurants, and attractions this city offers.
    Before kids, we spent 3 years as working holidaymakers in Ireland, Scotland, New Zealand, and countless months on international exchanges, backpacking, hitchhiking and couchsurfing around alot of the world, so we have a sense of what folks new to Victoria are looking for in an experience in a new culture. We also sponsor refugees and enjoy bringing different understandings of the world into our home and conversation with our family.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for volunteers to assist with housecleaning, gardening, childcare, picking our daughters up from school, and cooking some family meals, as well as other projects that may come up.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    "Lost Girls' Hideout" is a tiny, bright cabin with a cute covered porch in our back garden, surrounded by rhododendrons, blossoming trees, and teacup bird feeders. It has wifi, electicity, a portable heater, a double futon to use as a bed or sofa (as hard as futons usually are), an antique mirrored dresser, and a small farmhouse table/desk with a chair, an old rocking chair, and plenty of fairy lights. The cabin has no running water, you have to come into our house to use the kitchen and bathroom, it is about 8 meters to our back door. In our home, we have a bathroom downstairs with a shower, sink and toilet, and the main bathroom on our main floor. You are welcome to use our laundry facilities, and our kitchen. We try to keep a good stock of all the breakfast and lunch foods that you may need to prepare for yourself, and you are welcome to share our simple omnivorous family meals in the evening with us if you wish, sometimes take out, sometimes leftovers, or you can prepare your own if you have special dietary requirements. You can use our yoga mats and can borrow our bicycles, and use our guitars and piano if you are musically inclined.
    The futon/sofa is a double, so technically two people can share it, but the cabin is very tiny, less than 100 square feet (about 9 square meters), so it would be very tight to have a couple stay in it as you would be stepping on each other's toes alot of the time.
    We have a small self-contained suite attached to the back of our house with a nice tenant living in it. You probably would not see much of each other unless you bump into each other on the sidewalk going to our back garden where the cabin and suite both are located.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a decent bus system in Victoria, and we are centrally located with buses direct to downtown a half block from our home. There is a shopping centre one block away with most everything someone needs (bookstore, post office, bank, grocery store, hardware store, pharmacy, clothing stores, cafe). Victoria is an easy city to see by cycling, and you can borrow our bikes, there are many bike lanes, and some great bike trails such as the Galloping Goose, which you can cycle from Swartz Bay Ferry Terminal to downtown Victoria and all the way out to Sooke, probably 100kms from end to end nearly. There is bus service from the Swartz Bay ferry terminal to within one block of our house (two buses, one hour, but only 2 mins walking). Beaches and parks are an easy cycle or nice walk away.
    On your days off, you could journey to the farther reaches of Vancouver Island such as Tofino, Sooke, Port Renfrew, Vancouver, the Gulf Islands, and there is camping all over.
    During Covid Mike has been working from a downstairs office in our home while his office is on lockdown. We love to adventure and explore on weekends or in little bursts after school or in the evenings if we have time, and you are generally welcome to join us. Mike is an electrical engineer and I am a support worker for two ladies with disabilities. We love to cycle, hike, camp, travel most of all, have interesting conversations that grow our perspective, go out for a drink, craft and make art, dragonboat and outrigger canoe, do yoga, explore new places, and watch our daughters explore at the beach. We volunteer sponsoring refugees in our community and supporting people with disabilities to go on nature adventures.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have street parking In front of our house if needed for a van.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 978295626571