We need farm help and offer a cultural exchange near Ottawa, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 227 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    39  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.09.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    339

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We would be very happy for extra help.
    Summer 2020 / CURRENTLY LOOKING FOR:
    -Building and/or electrical experience
    -Manual labour to clear compost from the barn
    -Animal Care & Gardening
    -House cleaning + food prep
    -Resident artist
    -Live in teacher (for 12 year old)
    -maybe a web designer?..

    We are former travellers with a newfound desire for deeper roots - Our family is settling into a beautiful place. 18 acres of land, a barn, animals, creative open farmhouse, nestled by a river, and 50 mins. to Ottawa Canada.


    About us:
    Zion's (age 19) self motivated building projects (latest = tree house). Interest in his car, meat smoking, establishing a survival course for kids, community Fair..
    Eamon's (age 12) passion is his Chickens, Chicks, and Eggs (not sure which came first). Also loves playing games, playing piano, drama, basketball, and swimming.
    Elmir works full time hours from home so is here but not always available for our work projects. He is very passionate about all of our projects future and present!
    Brandie enjoys this soul bursting space, crafting, building permaculture garden's ,and taking morning strolls with the animals.
    *Recipes for happy and healthy when the work is shared*
    Our life, farm demands, and tasks changes with the seasons.
    Food preservation and preparation is year round.

    This space will be used for gatherings. The vision: Argicultural education through living an oldschool farm experience, stargazing, art classes, prenatal education, weekend picnics, nature / farm schools, the traditional gourmet food and farm fresh goodies.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We host in a community style. Our experiences run deep from our travels and our guests can expect to be made part of the family (and extended family). We can lead you to both city tourist sites (Ottawa) and the country life of the area. Both of our boys are outgoing and we all freely share what we know while continuing to learn. Brandie and the children are bilingual French / English but mostly we speak English at home. We often have families over. There are strong creative juices to soak in and lots of crafts to try.
    Bring clothes for all weather. Expect to get dirty and work hard (there are always jobs on the go and others waiting to be done).

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    On our to do list / some season dependent: (extra points for self initiating a job that you see needing done. We appreciate independence and self motivation mixed with some group brainstorming)
    -Building barn doors
    -Farm fencing
    -Restoring a fibreglass Kayak
    -Organic gardening using permaculture concepts
    -Housework / cleaning
    -Prepping Firewood
    -Build extra chicken run
    -Food preservation (fermentation, canning, meat smoking, butter churning..)
    -Cheese making (currently on break from milking as we wait for babies)
    -Re-build base of barn in traditional cedar cord wood style (a month long major project)
    -Making a bathroom
    -Building compost toilets
    -Animal care (yes, this includes cleaning up after them)
    -Bread baking every couple of days / planning and building outdoor oven + smoker
    -Yard clean-up and maintenance
    -Nature/farm school curriculum and facilitation
    -Campsite designs and building a natural playground
    -Art on the property
    -Horse groundwork and natural horsemanship training
    -In floor heating system
    -Deck construction
    -Bee keeping
    -Establishing a forest mushroom garden next year

    ... let us know what you would like to contribute while you are here :) (some are dependent on season, resource availability, and others are ongoing..)
    .We ask for 5 hours of help a day, as well as an expectation that you fit into our family life flow (help with meal prep and clean up, sweeping floors, ..) . We can not offer a very specific predictable work schedule as the days vary.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Bosnian: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Comfortable, clean, private room with a real bed in the house, or camping outside - you choose.
    Shared washroom.
    With a house full of foodies - meals will be fresh homemade family style collective efforts.
    We will have a set time for late breakfast and dinner - Otherwise food will be left to help yourself.
    We are adaptable to dietary needs and, as much as we do eat meat (just not pork), many of our meals are vegetarian. Feel welcome to cook too!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our home is under an hour from downtown Ottawa and we go to the city a couple times a week. We can pick our guests up form Aylmer Quebec as there is no public transit here. At the farm, expect a slower life pace that somehow always has motion. Let some time slide while enjoying a slow breakfast, petting a donkey, resting in the tree house, visiting a nearby beach on the Ottawa River.. We can hike Gatineau Park, visit other farms..

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We are self employed and work from home too :)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.7)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)



























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 927899571519