Be part of our family and help with childcare and cooking on Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 28 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.09.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of six living on beautiful Bowen Island, very close to Vancouver (20-minute ferry trip and then a 30-minute bus to downtown). My husband (from Belgium), Lieven, is self-employed and is working in the field of sustainability, regional development, leadership and change management. I (from The Netherlands), Judith, have a background in business and coaching and my passion now is in health & well-being for individuals, families and the planet. We have two teens, Nubi (15) and Noah (14), who are very independent. Nubi loves horseback riding on her horse. Noah is very sportive and social. We also have a 10-year old twin, Pai and Turo. Pai is very creative and loves to take care of younger kids. Turo loves the outdoors, reading and his computer. Our family description is complete by mentioning our Leonberger dog Suki and cat Pippi Longstocking.

    In 2018, we moved from Belgium to Bowen Island because of its beautiful nature, its sense of community and so closeby a lively city. Bowen Island is a special community to visit because it is SO BEAUTIFUL, and special in that it really feels like a village. It has about 3500 full-time residents, and many of them are young families. The beaches are quiet, the wildlife is stunning (deer, seals, sea lions, whales, eagles) and the forests are old-growth with huge trees. It's quiet but you also have coffee shops and restaurants and a bit of local art, a music scene and yoga/meditation offerings. Bowen residents sometimes feel as if we are living in one of these areas best-kept secrets...

    Bowen Island is situated off the Sea-to-Sky highway between Vancouver and Whistler, a major ski destination. There are also many ski mountains on the north shore of Vancouver, readily accessible by bus from Horseshoe Bay (which is where the ferry from Bowen docks in West Vancouver). There are ferries from Horseshoe Bay to Vancouver Island and the Sunshine Coast, so this is a great leaping off point to explore some of the most beautiful areas of the lower mainland of British Columbia. The weather in this area is glorious in the summer and fall months (May—October)—sunny, dry, temperate—and wet and rainy through the winter months (November—April). The good news about weather in the winter is that it is mild (usually above 0 degrees, hovering around 5-10 degrees), and therefore everything stays green even in the thick of winter. There are snowcapped mountains all around us, though. It's beautiful all year round.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This exchange would be about nature, family and community. The three values that lead us to move to Bowen Island. The nature is very special here on Bowen and we try to enjoy it every day in different ways (going on trails with our dog and our horse, going out in the ocean with our kayaks or by swimming in it, hiking up Mnt Gardner). We try to parent our kids very consciously and family time is very precious to us, it would be an honour if you can be part of this. Being part of a community is a way to feel connected, supported and grow and we are happy to connect you with all kinds of people in our community.

    We are a Dutch/Belgium family living in a very specific Canadian community which is a nice base for learning. We also really appreciate local food and healthy cooking and snuggling down as a family with music, movies, books, and good food and drink. :)

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our kids finish school already on June 10. We would love someone to help us with taking care of the kids in these summer months while Lieven and I can have some focused work time. Enjoying activities with them inside (creative projects, baking, board games, educational learning projects) and outside (going to the beach or the pool, hiking adventures, playing in the garden, tending the vegetable garden)

    In addition to childcare hours, we may ask for help with cooking dinners (mostly vegetarian—though some of our kids eat meat so we are not opposed to having meat cooked in the house), laundry, and maybe some light general cleaning and (always!) tidying. If you love to garden, there is also always work in the garden.

    We will come up with a regular, though generally very flexible schedule for you so that you can plan other activities around it.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Dutch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live in a 4 bedroom/2 bathroom house near the Cove (the little village with shops and restaurants) with a garden. From our house, you can walk on trails to several beaches. We will provide you with a room and board (food included). You will be invited to make yourself feel at home here!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In summer, Bowen Island is a paradise for travellers/tourists. The Bowen Island website provides much information on what the community has to offer and would be worth visiting.

    On your time off, you can walk the trails of Bowen, spend time on beaches, hang out at coffee shops, or travel to Vancouver or the coastal mountains that surround it for the day. You can also use this as a jumping-off point for trips north to Squamish, Whistler, Pemberton, the Sunshine Coast, Vancouver Island, etc. On the North Shore of Vancouver, which we are very close to, you can visit the Capilano Suspension Bridge, Lynn Valley, hike the famous Grouse Grind for amazing views of the city, and explore an infinite array of trail systems.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 171824926776