DIY projects in peaceful Reedville, VA, USA

  • Bisher 32 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 19 Juli 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of three ….really five, if the two adorable dogs are added. We live on a deeply peaceful river in rural Virginia. We have 28 acres and over a half a mile of water frontage. The river wraps around our property like an embrace.
    Reedville is a small fishing village in the Northern neck of Virginia. Here, there is simultaneously nothing to do and a million things to do. It is the kind of place that makes one want to read (or write!) a book, meditate, fish, kayak, crab, or take a long walk. Tons of wildlife keep things entertaining. Intense interactions between osprey & bald eagles are common in spring and early summer. We often see foxes, rabbits and all manner of song birds. In warmer months we regularly spot dolphins. In fact, we rent one of our cabins yearly to dolphin researchers from a nearby university.
    We have more indoor space than we can possibly use and are working with family to figure out our next steps (eg. Sell? Rent?). Meanwhile, there is lots of upkeep needed as well as fun homesteading ideas to try. We have a few super exciting green-building projects and garden expansion ideas already in the works. For example, we hope to add a chicken coop, dog exercise enclosure, solar panels, wild flower garden, and vegetable garden this year.
    You will have your own bedroom and bathroom. Every room has a writing desk and water view! We have super high speed internet also!
    This is truly a magical place. We are happy to share and will also be ever so grateful for some help with building, imagining, researching, painting, gardening and cooking. I’m happy to share what I know about fishing, crabbing, kayaking and building. All three of us speak English and 2 of the 3 also speak Spanish. We would be extra thrilled to host Spanish speakers as that may help me join my family in being bilingual.
    We do not drink, smoke, or take drugs. We are fine to host guests who enjoy a glass of wine now and again but, since we have a child, cannot tolerate any drunkenness or smoking of any kind.
    We are so excited to be a part of workaway!


    I don’t check email every day but I will check the workaway website every Sunday. So sorry for messages I have missed in the past. Thanks for reaching out!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are happy to share everything we know about this area….. about fishing, crabbing, kayaking. We are happy to introduce you to neighbors or friends if you have particular interests. I can teach the few southern recipes I learned from my grandmother (eg biscuits, cheese grits, cobbler) and the things I know about sustainable building that I learned renovating three houses. We are all 3 very good swimmers and can share this knowledge in the pool or river in warm months.
    I am a psychotherapist and my husband is a Spanish professor. We have both lived all over the world and are happy to share things we know but are most happy to learn things from new friends.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    As I mentioned above: We have a few super exciting green-building projects and garden expansion ideas already in the works. For example, we hope to add a chicken coop, dog exercise enclosure, wild flower garden, and vegetable garden this year. I would be so grateful for help with any of these projects in addition to help with cooking. We are mostly vegetarian and look forward to growing more of our own food. With 28acres there are always sticks to pick up and weeds to pull.
    Any building skills (eg. light carpentry, painting) will be greatly appreciated but not necessary. Overall, we are hoping to find people who want to have a peaceful break and allow their gaze to rest on the river in exchange for help with chores and exciting homestead type projects. I’m imagining that we will all work together between breakfast & lunch then be free in afternoon & evening.
    As I am typing this right now on the screen porch I have heard the exhalation of a dolphin and have to run to the dock to see.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I would like to learn Spanish. My daughter & husband already speak Spanish .

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a bedroom with one or two queen sized beds, with private bathroom, writing desk and water views.
    You will have your own bedroom and own bathroom. We will provide towels blankets & sheets.
    I will buy all the food. I will appreciate help in thinking of creative recipes and also with cooking and washing up after meals. Dinner is family style…. Everyone eats together, cooks together and cleans together. Breakfast & lunch are on your own. I will provide healthy options like fruit, salad & yogurt as well as deli meat or whatever you like.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We can provide you with a kayak ….. but sadly we don’t have an extra car. I’m happy to take you with me when I go into town. There are restaurants and shops 25 minutes drive away. Richmond Virginia is 2 hours away and we travel there a few times a month. There is no public transportation as this is a very rural area. Washington DC is 3 hours away. We don’t go there often but could probably find you a ride with a friend if we planned ahead.
    Our daughter rides horses several times a week. So, there are lots of opportunities to visit a horse barn. If you want riding lessons, I can probably arrange them but you will have to pay for them on your own.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have great high speed internet. As outdoor folks we are a little judgmental about gaming but are ok with other types of work …in other words…we are okay with types of internet work that would be suitable if our daughter happened to see your screen.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have plenty of parking…. And boat docking space. However, we are trying to be super green….. so no dumping or using too much water.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Maybe….. but probably not. Definitely no cats. Maybe maybe if we talk about it a lot in advance…must be a super non aggressive dog (our dog is slightly dog aggressive) and one that is on tick & flea prevention medication.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 967826218722

Feedback (3)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Projects in beautiful Sisters Oregon, USA
Help our family and also speak Italian to help us learn in Greenville, Texas, USA