Help with outdoor projects in the countryside near Tivoli, Lazio, central Italy

  • Italien
  • Bisher 821 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 4 Okt. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr



  • Beschreibung


    You are welcome to share some time with us 😊, please read all this before writing and contact us ready to share info 😉. I like interacting people, willing to pay attention to each other, so if interested send a WhatsApp number and be ready to actively chat and give evidence that you read us. Thank you.

    Hi, the mission we wish to share is to transform a piece of land in a graceful garden, so we are looking forward to have magic, reliable and interesting guests to help us a lot (one at a time) ! Hopefully the aiders will be pleasantly willing to learn and help and with a good eye for details.

    Do to the world situation and to our age, a Covid test is kindly required. We hope for a person able to understand the need to protect yourself, so please do not reach out if you are not fully vaccinated and not willing to take the test and show it to us just before you arrive.

    Hi, my name is Carlotta (59). I live in the countryside 7 kilometres far from Tivoli and about 30 kilometres from Rome, in Italy. I share my life with Marco (66) and three dogs. Our home is a small country cottage with its four thousand meter of land. My job is to keep in balance the wellness and caring of myself, with my man Marco, my house, my animals, my plants and my land.

    The property is divided into three, one part is house-courtyard-lawn-laboratory-patio and above and below, especially on slopes, there are olive groves and little paths among fruit trees, bushes, vegetable gardens and flowerbeds still in the making. Until 13 years ago when I bought, all the land was virtually abandoned and uncultivated. I, with great patience and like a good turtle (Tartarughina), slowly try to fix everything, working for the 90% by hand and alone. The terrain is steep and unmanageable for tractors or the like.

    Please bring shoes and clothes suitable to help in the countryside; the weather in summer can be hot but rainy as well. It is better to do tasks dressed light but covered and safe. Be sure to have shoes with NOT slippery sole (plane good rubber boots are the best).

    We do require our helpers to have personal travel insurance.

    We do not provide support for obtaining Senghen Visas or Residential matters.

    Unfortunately, we can afford to feed only one extra person at a time.

    If you want to come in the winter the help will take place outside as described below every possible time, otherwise there will be wood to sandpaper or paint, plus other tasks to be carried out with the same rhythms and times indicated below.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am reasonably good at cooking, so you will be able to learn a bit about Italian food.

    There nearest village it's VERY tiny and is at about 2 km, where the bus stop is, along with a bar, a pizzeria and a 'piazzetta' where few people randomly might meet.

    Tivoli (that have two UNESCO sites, Villa d'Este and Villa Adriana) is at 7 km, Rome is at 30 km and the railway is at 6 km.
    All around us there are nice walks among field of olive's trees.

    We will be glad to teach you some Italian and you can borrow some of our Italian books.

  • Arbeit


    No shorter staying than four weeks at a time. From our experience, the better working-cultural exchange is of two (2) months or even longer. The longer you stay the easier is to be involved not only in routine but in a real project 😉🐌.

    You will mainly help to tear off the wild weeds and keep clean and tidy the flowerbeds, the courtyard and the walkways, but you could be helping to build wood steps and fencing off my property, move stones and other heavy things, using the grass trimmer, the shredding machine and other similar things.

    I usually need help with heavy tasks, with the cleaning up from weeds in my flowerbeds, with gardening in general, in hoeing (.. dig?) the earth, and in various specific tasks, such as building small dry terraces or building objects with wood. I need a great deal of help to fence off the property to take out animals that do damage (like a nightmare in previous years we have been plagued by wild boars (..pigs?) and hedgehog). By finishing the fence, our dogs will be able to run and play more and the property will be better defined.

    It is important you are ok to work hard with your hands, like hammering while standing on a stair, hand hoe the vegetable garden, plant trees or build dry stone walls. You could be required to learn for example how to use a whisk to cut the iron.

    In exchange for 25 hours outdoor help per week outside plus 1 hour every day as cohabitation contribution outside, we offer a cute small apartment not completely independent and meals. We hope for helpers that are not too picky on food, as we enjoy sharing our food with people who can and love eating a little bit of everything including meat, so sorry but it would be impossible for us to have vegetarian or vegans guests.

    For dinner, lunch and breakfast, preparing, sharing and cleaning is expected, not as work, but as normal education and a community duty. If from time to time guests may want to use their time to cook some special dishes, it will be much appreciated but not mandatory. We do not like guests that glue to the sofa or fall in the phone or their own business with zero community help, no wish to share daily emotions or conversation.

    If you were good at taking pictures that would help me at tracking the working progress!

    Please remember that the help we need is most to be done outside, so your free days will mandatory be the rainiest ones.
    In addition to the 25 hours per week help in the fields, I will need daily help with the dogs’ needs, setting the table for meals tidying the courtyard and the lab, emptying the compost and ashes buckets and the trash.

    Those who choose to live with us, in addition to the settled 5 hours of help in the countryside, shall participate daily in common life. You will take care of your assigned areas and have your part in the maintenance of the common ones, Carlotta will tell you what and how to do; please remember us to send you the list ‘To do for helpers’, knowing that it may be tedious as by its very nature is a summary memo. Many of the tasks and requests listed, although considered intuitive, are specified to coordinate the different ages, experiences and cultural backgrounds of our guests and for future correctness and quiet coexistence.

    Good manners are welcome, for example during meals please do not use a lot your phone, not even for data, as it is rude to your guests.

    No food is allowed in the guest floor nor around the house.

    No smoking inside, ok outside only if you don't leave the cigarettes butts around but put them always in the trash.

    It wouldn't be bad if boys learned to pee while seated, as etiquette and hygiene suggest.

    We look for helpers willing to learn and respectful of our balance and love for details, even the seemingly minor ones. STRONG and delicate, honest and responsible people, curious and in need of knowledge, who are able to grasp the added value of good education, cleanliness, care and the search for beauty with the due respect of what surrounds us.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    An internal staircase leads to a tiny loft on the third floor, with bedroom and bathroom for our guest.

    The guests, in addition to daily work, are supposed to help fixing the table for meals and the clean after (breakfast, lunch and dinner), they are expected to keep daily clean and tidy everything around them, in the house and outside the 'To do list for helpers' will help you to better understand and then memorise what is expected.

    No smoking nor food is allowed in the guest area.

    We do not have air-conditioning.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are surrounded by nature, the train station in Guidonia is at about 6 km, there is a bus stop at about 2 km. The train will take you down town in Rome in 45 minutes, and the busses MIGHT EVENTUALLY take you to Guidonia train station or to Tivoli in 30 minutes (but please take note that unfortunately, their timing is not reliable).

    *** We wish you realise in advance that we live quite isolated in the country side, so this is not a place for you to come if your need for tourism, hanging around downtown or partying or going to the gym, is strong. ***
    We are and like to stay quiet and live relaxing in a peaceful place, far from the city, the noise, the crowd.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 Daily hours in the fields 5 days per week ++ (read above)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 962643897289

Feedback (18)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Be a big sister to our girls and enjoy Venetian life, Italy
Helfer gesucht für die Olivenernte in Umbrien, Italien