Cat sanctuary and non-profit organic farm on Maui, Hawaii, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 598 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    95.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 14 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Curt and Linda moved to Maui in 2011 after losing their house to a Colorado forest fire. Even though "retired" they work every day, and have built a lovely organic farm and cat sanctuary. Curt is a former soft ware engineer, and Linda a nurse practitioner. We are healthy seniors. We have utilized many short and long term "Workawayers" (farm-hands) over the years to help build and maintain the property. If you want to learn about organic farming and enjoy cats, you will enjoy a stay on our farm. There are opportunities to pet and house sit for periods of time as we would like to do some traveling.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will learn about organic farming and taking care of cows, chickens and cats. You will be living with a group of individuals who also work on property and the care of cat sanctuary. You will have opportunities to explore the island of Maui and all that Hawaii has to offer. We process milk, cheese, yogurt, butter and cream cheese, that you can share. You will have access to all organic fruits and vegetables on property.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Aloha,

    Hello, and thank you for completing this application to work as a volunteer for us.
    We are located in Haiku, Hawaii.

    Our Ranch is a seven and a half acre property located in Haiku on the lovely island of Maui. We grow organic vegetables, tons of fruit - avocado's, tangerines, bananas, coconuts, passion fruit, papaya, pineapple, lychee, oranges, limes and lemons. We have a milking cow and chickens - all fed organically. We also have a cat sanctuary with ~ 250 cats, most of them rescued feral kittens and cats. We are a 501(3)c non-profit.

    We are working to complete our cat sanctuary . We need help with caring for the cats, keeping all areas clean, laundry, yard maintenance, gardening, building projects and fencing.

    We do have cats in the house - up to as many as 10, so you really have to like cats to stay with us. We are rigorous about cleaning the litter boxes and keeping the house odor at a minimum. We will provide meals and/or money for you to buy groceries within a moderate budget.

    We ask that you read and complete this application prior to requesting a volunteer reservation. Thank you in advance!
    It is important that you understand that we do expect you to work and complete the tasks. Unfortunately, we have had to ask a few work-away volunteers to leave, because they were not willing to complete the tasks asked of them. We are kind and generous, and run a tight ship. If the tasks we need help with don't appeal to you, please do not apply to come.


    Linda&Curt


    Name:
    Address:
    Birthday
    Email
    Phone numbers (s)
    Two emergency contacts:
    Driver’s License:
    Passport:
    Visa:
    Country of citizenship:
    Languages spoken:
    Previous work-away experience:

    References (two required)


    Do you have health insurance? We recommend your obtain the insurance available through work away if you do not have health insurance. The is not responsible for any health care you may need during the time you are a volunteer.

    Allergies (please list)

    Do you have any physical or mental health conditions?
    Any chronic and or heavy drug and/or alcohol use?
    Any tobacco use? (allowed outside only)

    Are you physically able to work for five hours a day, five days a week?
    Are you able to work according to a schedule?
    What experience do you have caring for animals?

    Are you comfortable sharing space with other people?
    Are you able to do mild to moderate physical labor for short periods up to five days a week?
    Are you willing to spend up to three hours a day cleaning up after cats, including changing litter boxes and cleaning their living spaces?

    Are you willing to live in a household that has lots of cats – up to 15 that live in the house, jump on the tables, make messes and sometimes demand attention?
    If you have a problem, how do you approach the situation?
    What additional skills do you have?

    Is there anything you want to share about yourself and your expectations while volunteering at our Ranch?

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We offer a shared and private room with bunk beds and bathroom, with full access to the kitchen and laundry. We have two rooms with queen sized beds that can accommodate 1-2.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Maui is an amazing island with much to see. You will have two full days off a week to enjoy exploring the island. We tend to go to bed early - 9-10 and start our work day early - 6-7. No smoking in the house. We ask for a minimum of one month and a maximum of two months. We have good Internet access, cell phone reception can be inconsistent and we only have Net-Flix - no network TV. We enjoy sharing meals and also enjoy having people cook for us, although not required. We are not vegan or vegetarian.

    We are total cat people and our cats live in and outside of the home. They jump on the tables and sometimes leave messes on the floor. It is all in a days work. We love our cats more than our furniture. If you are grossed out by the smell and site of cat messes, this isn't the place for you. We ask you to help us clean up as a part of your work responsibilities. Don't sign up for the job if you are unable to deal with the down and dirty care of animals.

    You will be asked to keep your living quarters clean and clean your room well before you leave. You will have some housekeeping responsibilities in your living quarters.

    We have one car available for the volunteers to share. You must have a valid drivers license and insurance, and fill the car with gas.

    WHAT TO BRING:
    -Boots and clothes you do not mind getting dirty
    -Raincoat
    -Hat for sun protection
    -Comfortable walking shoes
    -Reef-friendly sunscreen

    You can pack light, as all bedding and towels are provided, and there is laundry on site.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have areas where small campervans can be parked.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    With notice beforehand, and as long as they are able to get along with our cats, dogs, cows, and chickens.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)
















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 918119235613