aktualisiert  

Help me share my mandala weaving skills while living in the rich cultural area of Oaxaca, Mexico

  • Mexiko
  • Bisher 282 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 28.01.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am now booked up with at least one guest until Mid-February, with a calendar that seems to change often with both cancellations and new requests. Workawayers stay in my small apartment's bedroom, accommodating two at a time, while I sleep in the bedroom. If you apply and are accepted, you likely will be paired with another, and at this time, I'm only accepting females, which makes doubling up easier.

    ***************

    Hello, my name is Jay, and I'm a 78 year old long time weaver of Ojos de Dios mandalas, and am well known amongst fellow yarn mandala weavers for introducing the modern version of this ancient art to Mexico and other places around the world. I also founded a popular facebook page devoted to the art. Recently I'm much more focused on oil pastel drawings rather than mandala weaving.

    Evan so, I'd consider taking an apprentices to help with both internet teaching, and who wants to learn the weaving techniques themselves. Help with promoting my instructions is a real plus. I had apprentices when I lived in Asheville, North Carolina, who eventually took over my successful etsy shop. Also workawayers who simply want to cook meals and provide companionship are totally welcome to apply.

    I have many references via another platform, where I have hosted travelers from 39 different countries, and have received only positive references.

    I am a non-smoker, and have zero tolerance for marijuana smoking or other related drugs in my apartment. I drink the occasional beer, but tolerate only limited drinking.

    Eating a healthy diet is important to me, and I like to eat lots of fresh fruits and vegetables, and whole grains. My meals are mostly vegetarian, but at times I eat fish or chicken. Actually, the amount of meat I eat fluctuates a lot, so you should have tolerance for my possible meat eating. I can not east much of heavy starches or refined sugars: potatoes, wheat, white rice etc. Best for me is a high protein and whole grains with non-starchy vegetables. At times dairy is a problem, although I can usually eat yogurt and some cheeses. I walk most every day, and also do yoga and other workouts frequently. Sometimes though physical limitations put a serious halt to anything strenuous. Simple companionship is very meaningful to me.

    Recently I took in a small black cat that got left behind by a close neighbor who left the area suddenly. I also have been feeding two other cats ..... am not sure how that is going work out, but I am hoping others will adopt them. There are many cute street dogs in the area, but so far I've resisted adopting any of them.

    Although i occasionally take in two workawayers, usually I prefer hosting only one at a time.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Unterrichten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Oaxaca is a city and general area extremely rich in arts and culture, both ancient and modern. Also, you can learn from me, through learning the actual weaving of my Ojos de Dios yarn mandalas, a creative skill both meditative and delightful to give as gifts and possibly to sell as well.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Fluency in Spanish is greatly desirable, as my own Spanish is minimal, and being able to teach yarn mandala weaving to the Spanish speaking people of the world would be a great help. Also, helping me with learning Spanish would be very helpful. I want to create both recorded and in person online teaching of my mandala weaving skills, so internet skills are also very desirable. General help around the house, especially cooking, would be a great help. Meals here tend to be simple and vegetarian, but at times I eat considerable meat also. Often ready made foods from local vendors are also used, such as tamales or tacos.

    There is an opportunity here to learn both weaving of yarn mandalas and marketing them, as well as teaching others. I could use help with finding online students through social media.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I like English/Spanish language exchange.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I live in a very desirable part of Oaxaca City, namely, San Felipe de Agua, which, although now a tony suburb of Oaxaca, still has its own village and corn farming life. I'm smack dab in the middle, across from the town plaza and historical church, with shopping in the same block. It's a 15 minute easy bus ride to El Centro Oaxaca. A fifteen minute walk in the opposite direction takes you through corn fields and into the Sierra Norte mountains.

    This is a small apartment, but I sleep in the living room, so the one bedroom is for guests and workawayers. There is one bathroom to share connected to the bedroom. Water is limited, so we must always be very careful in conserving water.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I have dependable hi-speed internet, and there are many aspects of what I am looking for that can be done online, such as website help, and promoting my teaching mandala weaving online.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Not on the property of my apartment, but there is secure parking on the street right across from my apartment.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    2 or 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 917883788746

Feedback (3)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Help in a hostel and spend time with travellers from different parts of the world in Oaxaca, Mexico
Help us create the ultimate traveler experience in the beautiful Ventanilla, Oaxaca, Mexico