Volunteer with a Dynamic Duo in Portland, Oregon!

Country

USA

Bisher 313 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.11.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    850

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Krista is from Vancouver, British Columbia. She has called several places home, including South Africa and Southern China, and now Portland, Oregon! She is currently completing a Master's degree in classical Chinese Medicine, and is committed to things such as gardening, qi gong, culinary arts, acro yoga, urban homesteading and being a step-mother to her partner's two lovely children.

    Jason comes from Chicago. He is incredibly well-traveled and is a fantastic storyteller. He spends his days building things and remodeling homes, restoring them to their original glory. Since becoming a national delegate for Bernie Sanders last summer, he has become very active in progressive local politics for the betterment of American society! Other than this, he spends his time fathering two great kids, playing acro yoga and fanatically reading.

    Together, we are committed to a conscious lifestyle of treading lightly on the earth and doing much with little while indulging in luxurious self-care when possible. We love to go hiking, camping, and dancing frequently. In the warmer seasons, we travel by bike and indulge in the outdoors as much as possible. Community-building is a central pillar of our lifestyle, and we are always looking for more ways to connect to ourselves and to others.

    We appreciate the values of Workaway and have been fortunate enough to meet some great people through it in the past. Now that we are purchasing a new home, we are looking once again for some strong and independent souls to come and help us accomplish a lot of work in a relatively short time frame. From the end of March until about May, we will be looking for people to help us with such tasks as prepping interior and exterior surfaces for painting, building a chicken run and garden boxes, laying a new floor, putting up a fence, moving appliances, removing grass and ivy, setting up rain collection barrels, as well as simply helping us move our belongings and maintain a clean home. We are generally drawn to open and energetic folks who have a healthy awareness of boundaries and who are able to complete tasks rather independently. We are looking for people with experience in building things and those who don't mind engaging in physical tasks like cleaning and digging.

    What we can offer our guests are clean, safe and comfortable accommodations, quality, healthy meals, and fun company. It is not unusual for us to invite guests out to social events if the timing works out, or to lend en extra bike to those who want to see Portland on two wheels. As is the standard, we expect no more than 5 hours of work a day in exchange for a accommodations and two meals.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help with urban homesteading projects such as building a chicken run for our four hens, burying water pipe for an automatic watering system, cleaning and setting up rain collection barrels, and building garden boxes.

    Home renovation projects will include deep cleaning our new home to prep it for painting, laying a new floor on top of the existing one, and assisting us in moving larger items like doors and washing machines.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Fluent English, French, Spanish, basic Mandarin

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Spare, private bedroom

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our current home is in the middle of the Alberta Arts District, bustling North Williams and Historic Mississippi neighbourhoods, only 10 minutes downhill by bike from downtown. There are tons of great places to eat, drink, and shop within a stone's throw from our home.

    The home we are about to move into is in Portland's Kenton neighbourhood. This is one of the hottest areas people are wanting to move to right now. It is about a 25 minute bike ride to downtown, but is also in the heart of many great, local establishments and beautiful parks.

    Portland is a fantastic place to live and visit. We are full of recommendations for places to go and things to do. We will be happy to share these when you stay with us!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours maximum



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 889733565348