Learn to sail and help out with boat maintenance in the Virgin Islands

Country

Virgin Islands (U.S.)

Bisher 457 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.10.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi my name is Alex and I own and manage two boats that are used for youth sailing camps in the summer months. A 41' cutter, and a 53' schooner. From June-August the boats are under contract and chartered for team building and sailing instruction. That keeps myself and a hired captain very busy in the summer months, but the rest of the year we have the boats to maintain, but also use for sailing adventures and lessons in the Virgin Islands!

    The task is helping out on two cool sailboats in the US virgin islands in return for sailing lessons and adventures., a 53' schooner and a 41' cutter.
    Accommodations are aboard the 53' steel expedition style schooner. She has 9 berths aboard and a lot of deck space for sleeping in hammocks under the stars on clear nights. There are three sailing dinghies for practicing sailing skills and one motor dinghy for use of those staying aboard.
    She is usually kept off of Honeymoon Beach, on Water Island in the USVI. But at least every other weekend or as often as possible we sail to surrounding islands to explore hike, snorkel, dive, and surf.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The best thing about living on a sailboat is the experience gained in learning how to sail, navigate, handle a vessel at sea and also close quarters. Living on a boat is very different than life ashore, it's always an adventure.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Looking for some help with painting, varnishing, rigging, canvas, mechanics, etc. these things never end on sailing boats! no prior skills are required as everything on a sailboat is teachable.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    there are 9 berths in 4 shared cabins with one shared bathroom and a outdoor shower. usually we wont have more than 3 or 4 workawayers aboard so there is a lot of space aboard the 53' schooner! each bunk has a privacy curtain, fan, and reading light.

    She has a galley(kitchen) with a small fridge and stove, but plenty of cooking space.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Lots of activities around the USVI! Water Island is a great place to hang out, but a 15 minute dinghy or ferry ride away is ST Thomas, the busiest island in the USVI. There are lots of sights, beaches, and bars on St Thomas that make the day life and night life exciting all the time. a 15 minute ferry ride from St Thomas is St John, the most beautiful island In the USVI with 75% being national park there are countless untouched beaches and exciting trails to be explored. St Thomas and St John can easily be gotten to in your own time anytime, but also as often as possible we will take the schooner anywhere we want to go.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We love dogs

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (4.8)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 886986218467