English family looking for a dog loving couple near Pau, SW France

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 954 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 27 Nov. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    Hello and thanks for finding us! Read our reviews and the profile in full before replying if you think you’ll be the next one of our series of exceptional workaways. We have enjoyed hosting workaways over Christmas (which we celebrate fully!) so do apply if you are seeking a home from home at this special time.

    We’re looking for a single girl or a couple/couple of friends to join our family. You need to be responsible and capable of looking after a large house and garden alongside us. Drivers aged 25+ especially with your own car is a bonus.

    We love sharing our slice of heaven with like-minded people who join our family. Seeing the transformative effect our place has on others rewards and validates us, and makes the ongoing project more pleasurable. This place is made to be shared, and as a 10 bedroomed chateau with extensive grounds and vineyards, there is always something to be done and enjoyed!

    We came to SW France on holiday in 2008 and fell in love with the area and our chateau. We stayed, and created a new life based on family and friend connections, contact with nature, healthier living and expanding our horizons. Our kids are now 16, 21 and 24 years old (the older 2 now abroad) and we have a gorgeous dog, Shimmy aged 4, an outdoor living cat and some chickens.

    We have welcomed over a dozen workaway couples since starting 5 years ago (many return) and relish wonderful exchanges and experiences and feel that our family is expanding.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are well integrated into the local community and are fluent in French but this is an English speaking household.

    We both come from families with an 'open door' policy. We love sharing our dream life and home with others and learning from them too. Sharing my own childhood with children of many nationalities made me a linguist and we all have a love of travel. Our former aupairs of up to 20 years ago still visit and remain very much part of the family. In terms of language, I have experience in TEFL and we have an extensive library of English books as well as local guides. We can direct you towards French resources. You are also welcome to join me in mindfulness and yoga practice.

  • Arbeit


    Our place would best suit an enthusiastic, animal loving, non smoking girl/couple who seek to get the most out of each day. Driving license (over 25s preferably) and cooking skills (especially healthy vegetarian food) are a bonus. A love of spring cleaning and weeding helps too.

    In terms of projects, there's a long list to choose from depending on your initiative and skill set. There's always wood to be chopped for fires so some heavy lifting required in addition to general gardening. Plus general house help/light DIY, floor varnishing, window cleaning etc. If the weather is bad, there's always work to be done on the computer so tech and social media skills are also valued. And we are removing render in our barn renovation project. Some workaways have house and pet sat if we're away and enjoy being king/queen of the castle!

    We are passionate and hardworking and expect our workaways to be the same, 5 hours per day for 5 days a week (not including helping at family meals) but we are flexible and will encourage you to make the most of good weather and explore, and there is ample opportunity to relax and travel too.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    We have 4 ensuite double or triple bedrooms furnished and decorated to a high standard. We expect volunteers to leave the rooms and house as they found them. We have a largely pescatarian diet and normally grab a sandwich at lunchtime and have the main meal together each evening - enthusiastic cooks and vegetarians are particularly welcome. This is a strictly non smoking and only occasional drinking home.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If you love nature, either for adventure or relaxation, then there is a wealth of things to do. A car is preferable for exploring the stunning surrounding area but previous guests have made the most of cheap buses for Spain (San Sebastian) and the Basque coast. If you're happy to stay put (and many find it hard to leave the sanctuary of the chateau), we are happy to pick you up from train/bus stops in Pau. We are 15 minutes drive from the historic city of Pau, an hour from the mountains and Spain and 90 minutes from the Atlantic surf. We have electric bikes and are on wonderful cycle and hiking routes. I spend a lot of time on the school run so am happy to give you a lift when it's on my way. We encourage guests to share in our family life if they wish, whether at playing cards or board games after mealtimes or on dog walks or excursions.

    We request that volunteers provide personal references if they are not already reviewed on Workaway and be available for a chat via Whatsapp. Please quote 'Dreams' to show you have read and understood before applying. We look forward to hearing from you and, I hope, help in realising more dreams during your travels.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    The wifi is OK for this rural area.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Lots of space for parking

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 884774135813

Feedback (19)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Come and help us on our property while discovering the surroundings in Montalzat, France
Help me with improving my home and garden while discovering rich culture of Bordeaux, France