Help us to build a self sustaining homestead and market garden near 100 Mile House, BC, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 12 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.05.2019

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of four (two young children) looking for some help to build our dream self sustaining homestead and market garden from scratch. We'd love to learn some new cultures, eat some different foods, and build some awesome memories in the process.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are transitioning from "city jobs" to market gardening - fruit and vegetable farmers. Our method of farming is biointensive and self sustaining. Meaning we grow soil which in turn grows produce. Albeit we've had to bring in natural amendments to get us started. However within three years we will no longer till our soil or use any outside amendments. We will grow all our own compost materials which not only enrich the soil as they grow but will add nutrients when composted and added to our growing beds each year.

    The world is becoming more aware of where their food comes from. More and more people are looking to buy local produce that's in season and farmed in a sustainable manner. Which now allows produce farmers (Market Gardeners) to make a healthy living wage all over the world. What we are doing here in Lac la Hache, BC can be and is being done all over the world in various climates. Perhaps you're looking for your calling in life. This may be it, and we're excited to share this journey with others along the way.

    We have been gardening for a couple years now, however this is our first year expanding to about 1/2 an acre farmed and all the infrastructure that goes along with it. You will get to see and be part of the critical start up phase.

    Outside of farming produce, we have animals, pet animals, and lots of them. 7 ducks, 2 dozen chickens/chicks, 2 pigs, four dogs, and two cats. There is not shortage of animal interaction on our small homestead.

    Our kids just finished swimming lessons until the fall, so we're looking to explore the outdoors around us a little more this year. We do have an ATV and endless trails around us. This past year we decided to fish more (winter and summer) and do a little more camping. There is no shortage of adventures around us and welcome the opportunity of workawayers to join us.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    2018 is the year of our market garden on our 2 acre property located 2 miles north of Lac La Hache, BC. In between planting, transplanting, harvesting, washing, and storing we need to continue building infrastructure and keep up with the day to day chores. This year we plant to build more fences, a chicken coop, wood shed, greenhouse, pet pig shelters, improve our yard space for our two young children (7 and 5), raise chicks for egg laying hens, etc, etc. We have a lot to learn, a lot to do, and hoping to meet some people that perhaps have some experience with the above tasks and can teach our family a thing or two along the way.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English but would love to learn other languages

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a 27' travel trailer on our property with running water, electricity, and heat. It has it's own bathroom with stand up shower, sink, and flushing toilet, one bedroom separate from the living room - kitchen - dining area, and two extra bunk beds. Living room has a TV and DVD player. Would be ideal with a couple looking for their own space yet still contribute to a families goal of building the homestead and market garden. See our pictures for the trailer accommodations.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are surrounded by lakes and beautiful scenery. Fishing, hiking, skiing, snowboarding, kayaking, canoeing, etc are just some of the activities available to us depending on the time of year. We do fish ourselves and have all the gear needed for all seasons, including ice fishing. We also like to partake in the local farmers markets and festivals in the spring and summer months. Williams Lake, BC is 45 minutes drive from us and offers all amenities one can need. 100 Mile House, BC is 20 minutes drive from us and offers most amenities as well.

    Workawayers must have their own voluntary health insurance and provide proof.

    Non-smokers preferred but not a deal breaker.

    Absolutely no drug use.

    We also have many tools available for those traveling with their own transport that may need some DIY maintenance.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 883676887167