1 / 5

Help me with the land and DIY in a beautiful natural environment in the heart of Sicily island, Italy

  • Bisher 19 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 14 Mai 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Welcome travellers!! me, my family and my house are ready to welcome you in the beautiful Sicily to share our daily life, accept your help on our land and experience moments of peace in nature in a creative family context.
    We have been a married couple for more than 30 years,
    Angelo is 65 and Anna is 61 and we have 5 children who live outside most of the time.
    we live in a house in the countryside in the center of Sicily, surrounded by nature but close to the town of San Cataldo, in the province of Caltanissetta.
    although our little town is not close to the sea, its strategic point in the center of Sicily allows you to move easily in all directions of the island, facilitating exploration from east to west. In any case, the closest seaside place require only 40 minutes to be reached by car we also own a house by the sea where we happen to move some weekends and when it happens you could come with us.
    One of the closest seaplace from my house is AGRIGENTO( only 40 minutes by carn) ,a famous city close to a lot of beautiful seaspot, that welcomes The Valley of the Temples, a UNISCO HERITAGE. is an archaeological park characterized by an exceptional state of conservation of important Doric temples from the Hellenic period. It corresponds to the ancient Akragas.

    I, Angelo, retired 3 years ago and devoted myself completely to what has always been my greatest passion, agriculture and the cultivation of my land. in fact I have a degree in agronomy and I have always cultivated organic products which we then eat with my wife and my family. I can teach you a lot about how to cultivate the land properly and about the characteristics of plants and fruits
    my wife Anna is a high school Philosophy teacher, she is a piano graduate and has taught music in the past.
    his greatest passion is music ( and philosophy as well ), in fact all our Child can play various instruments and sing and when we get together we usually spend time sharing this common passion.
    In addition to many plants, vineyards and fruit trees, I also have hens that produce delicious eggs and a big puppy Dog of 8 months, very good and friendly.
    Because I mainly do all the work on the land alone or with some friends I would like to receive your I help mostly on this field or with setting up land boundaries, fixing up my donkey's old stable and other similar jobs.
    I usually work the land mainly in the morning, and do other types of work in the afternoon so it is possible to agree to divide the work differently over the days .
    I require a maximum of 4-5 hours a day of work, 5 days a week.
    2 days a week you are free to stay in my house or to visit other places in Sicily, but if you need to move for 3 days it is possible to arrange it in advance.

    The volunteers have an entire uninhabited floor available to share (maximum 2 volunteers at a time, solo or couple it's fine) in which I can arrange the beds.
    on the same floor there is a bathroom and a small kitchen where on free days the volunteers can cook their own meals.
    every day the volunteers have food available to have breakfast on their own floor while for lunch and dinner they can go up to eat with us what we also eat.
    (is also necessary that the volunteers keep their floor, their bathroom and their kitchen clean and that they give help at the end of the meal when they share it with us on the main floor)

    moving or shopping is possible by agreeing with those who are going out by car or, if you prefer, by walking towards the town (20 min walking).
    this volunteering experience is like going to live in an uncle's country house,
    work can be diversified according to ability, there is respect, kindness and flexibility.
    our religion is catholic Christian but we are also very open and curious about cultural differences,religion, traditions etc. (our family is already intercultural).
    precisely because ours is a small town, on your free days we can accompany you to reach the buses or trains to move independently. the central bus and train station is 15-20 minutes by car from our house.
    In some period our home is stably lived also by component of our family (especially 3 of our daughters). So sometimes they can enrich your experience by taking you around and communicating better in English.
    unfortunately neither my wife nor I are good at speaking English, I have a basic English and I would like to improve the language through these experiences with volunteers. but this doesn't scare me because it's very simple now to understand each other with gestures or using the translator.
    it is the first time that we become a host here on workaway so the experiences with you will serve to create a model suitable for the volunteer's needs.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As a volunteer you can discover and immerse yourself in Sicilian culture, in its rural side without completely estranging yourself from city life. you can visit the heart of Sicily as well as the amazing coast and seatown and learn about its infinite traditions that change from town to town.
    distance from some famous place from my home town:
    -Agrigento: 40 min by car
    -Palermo : 2 h by car
    -Cefalù: 1.30h by car
    -Catania: 1.30 h by car
    -Taormina: 2.20 h by car
    -Marsala/Trapani: 3h by car
    -Noto/Siracusa: 2.15h by car
    volunteer

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I mostly need your help on the field (working the land, planting, watering plants, harvesting fruits and vegetables) or with setting up land boundaries, fixing up my donkey's old stable and other DIY similar jobs.
    inside the house, help would be needed to clear a room which will then be used for create a a meditation space and paint that room.
    other creative works can be done thanks to the advice and skills of creative volunteers or thanks to their previous experiences in the sector.
    I usually work the land mainly in the morning, and do other types of work in the afternoon so it is possible to agree to divide the work differently over the days .
    I require a maximum of 5 hours a day of work, 5 days a week.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    single bed in a single room or in a floor used only for volunteers (maximum 2 at a time). this may depend on the number of requests.
    on the floor used only for the use of volunteers there is a bathroom and a kitchen while on the main floors there is another common family kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a single bedroom in case there is only one volunteer.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    in your free time you can visit the small town of San Cataldo or the province (caltanissetta) which is only 10 minutes by car from san cataldo, visit the forest near the house where there are mines and archaeological areas, or visit other nearby towns or seaside areas .
    you can also dedicate yourself to your commitments or creative hobbies directly at our home because you will have large spaces available to use, you can also think of dedicating yourself to music, painting or meditation in an environment surrounded by nature.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 883548163345

Weitere Bilder

Feedback