Come and enjoy quality time on a small island in Maine, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 49 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Dear Workawayers,

    My name is Katy, I’m a 59 German-American, also a Workawayer.

    My family and I are looking for help on a small island (about 1.5 miles long) off Maine’s largest city Portland.
    Besides some help around the house and garden, the main tasks would involve helping me put up vinyl siding on a 2-story cottage directly on the waterfront, so some construction and maintenance experience would be greatly appreciated. But together - with some help of friends and YouTube - we should be able to work it out.

    We can offer you your own room (maybe even tiny cottage with own bathroom) and food for about 4 to 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week. You can take any two days off as agreed. I’m really flexible and if the weather does not cooperate, we’ll stay inside and take it easy.

    Back to our island. It is small. The winter population is about 50. The main mode of transportation is by foot, bike, or golf cart. We do not have any open stores, restaurants, or pubs during the winter, but a well-sorted public library. Everything, including groceries, has to be ordered from the mainland.
    We can be reached by ferry boat (about 5 times a day). Yes, there is a larger city, Portland, with all the usual city amenities, but the island itself is quiet and peaceful.

    We can cook together or I can cook for us both. Whatever you feel like.

    And: The island is always on "island time”! Some things work out someway/somehow, some don’t. That’s just the way things are around here.

    Our island has been Covid-free to date. This was and is only possible through strict and enforced regulations. Workawayers should be vaccinated against COVID to keep the island safe.

    I would love to hear back from you!
    Katy

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I, myself, have been on several Workaways and loved the amazing experiences and encounters. Now I want to pay some of this back and share with some like-minded individuals.

    There will be small-island living in beautiful surroundings in a typical New England cottage, right in the Atlantic.
    While we are „summer people“, we have many island friends who’d love to meet you and share meals, drinks, and game nights. It’s great to be part of a small tight-knit community and our one-room school house with currently 4 school kids is amazing.
    There is fabulous hiking on the mainland and several national parks, but bug spray is recommended!
    We may be able to find a lobster fisher to take you out lobstering. And there are whale watching tours right out of beautiful Portland, Maine. Once in a while, we see marine wildlife right off our porch.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Helping us put up vinyl siding on a 2-story cottage and maybe some other small maintenance and gardening projects as the need arises. All to be discussed and agreed upon together.
    Nothing difficult and certainly nothing dangerous!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A nice light room, either with double or single beds. Rest shared with me.
    Alternatively, your own unheated little cottage with own bathroom, as you wish.
    High-speed internet. Meals paid.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    On island: beach-combing, reading, book club, happy hour, game nights, kayaking, etc.
    Off island: free inter-island ferry-boat hopping, trips to town, national parks, etc.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Good high-speed Internet!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 873627877154