Explore the great Bear Rainforest and help out on our small farm in Bella Coola Valley, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 5 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a married couple with a newborn baby (May 2021) who have a hobby farm in the beautiful Bella Coola Valley.
    We currently have a large garden, hay fields, a barn and many old fruit trees (apple, cherry, pear, plum). We also have many wild berry bushes, including saskatoon berries, thimble berry, choke cherries, and wild rose hips. Our produce is currently for our own consumption.
    We have a beautiful oak tree, an old growth cedar/hemlock/doug fir/spruce forest on the property, a creek behind the house, trails through a swamp forest, waterfall views.
    From our property you can also access mountain bike trails and the trail to the East Schoolhouse Falls which provides a beautiful view of the valley in addition to the falls.

    We bought the property in spring of 2020. The property had not been farmed for many years. It continued to be maintained beautifully, But growing/harvesting of crops were not the recent focus.
    We have begun many projects and have many more in mind, but some are "experimental". We love new ideas for creative, sustainable living and farming. Some things we have done in the last year:
    •Tilled and restored an old garden area, and a new garden area, which gives us quite a large growing area.
    • planted more fruit trees and bushes: nectarine, fig, raspberries, blueberries, persimmon, strawberries, paw paw, purple sausage.
    •constructing an attached greenhouse to the shop.
    • mushroom logs
    • currently installing a new electric fence for predators and deer
    • making trails through the old growth forest
    •soil building, composting, mulching
    • tapping birch trees and making birch syrup
    • working to restore the health of old fruit trees, some almost 100 yrs old

    There are many projects always on the go, it just depends what time of year you visit for what we are up to.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The local area is absolutely amazing. Some of the most scenics views in the world.
    There is a very rich local First Nations culture. We are located in the traditional lands of the Nuxalk Nation. You will likely see traditional fishing methods in practice, local art (famous for carvings). Some opportunities may exist to be involved in local activities with both First Nations and Non-First Nations. Some traditional sites are only able to be seen with a local First Nations guide and this can be arranged.
    The area is known for great salmon fishing, Grizzly bear viewing, hiking, kayaking, hot springs, skiing, and about any outdoor activities. We can lend you some fishing gear, but you would have to purchase a fishing license to try your luck with the salmon.

    We are fairly new to the Bella Coola Valley, but we have both spent our whole lives in the surrounding area and can share many stories, local history, and offer recommendations for things to do or see.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Farm/Garden
    •Planting seeds and seedlings in the garden, small bushes and fruit and nut trees
    •Watering and mulching
    •Weeding
    •Small fencing projects
    •Picking berries, fruit and vegetables from the garden
    •Small carpentry projects such as building a cold frames, greenhouse, planting boxes.
    •Composting and fertilizing plants
    •Helping to till additional garden space
    •Painting, sanding and staining
    •Lawn mowing and weed wacking
    •Clearing fenceline
    •Feeding the chickens and mucking out the chicken coop
    •Helping to innoculate mushroom logs
    •Helping to create and maintain vermicomposting towers and trays
    •Seed saving
    •Processing food (drying, canning, juicing)
    •chainsaw work (can train)
    •ride on mower, tractor, other equipment use.

    Home
    • help with food preparation
    • help with childcare
    •help with cleaning

    Tasks will likely depend on what your skills and interests are as well.
    If you have skills you would like to use or share, Great !
    If you would like to learn new skills that we can share, Great !

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Depending on timing and other visitors, options are:
    1 spare bedroom in house
    A travel trailer separate from house
    Tenting in a nice camp spot by a creek.

    For food, we normally have group/family dinners and we are pretty flexible with how that works with help. Sometimes we take turns cooking, sometimes we all pitch in. I would say we eat about 80% organic food and try to grow, preserve, prepare as much of our own food from the farm as possible. We are not vegan or vegetarian, but are conscious of where our food, especially meat, comes from. We try to eat mostly wild meat or local organic meat products. We are respectful of dietary preferences and restrictions, and will do everything we can to provide what you need for your diet. If you have special dietary requirements we should discuss prior to your visit. Local stores may not carry certain items.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    As stated above, there are many outdoor activities, local culture, natural beauty to experience here.

    There is an airport that has flights to/from Vancouver. Vehicle rentals are available at the airport. A vehicle does give you more freedom to explore the area but isn't a must. We live within biking distance to stores, airport, and many sites to see.
    There is a ferry from Vancouver Island or Prince Rupert to Bella Coola. This is about 17 hrs and is an overnight trip.
    You can travel by road via HWY 20 which is 6 hrs from Williams Lake,12 hrs from Vancouver. Including the famous Bella Coola Hill, known locally as "the hill".
    If you are interested in coming, please contact us to discuss the best way to get here.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 873366758935