aktualisiert  

Community renovation/gardening, eco insulation, caravan pimping or creating vegetable plot in a hamlet in rural France

  • Bisher 46 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 13 Juli 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    1 or 2 people in June to help prepare the village for it's vide-grenier on August 4th

    French language skills would be helpful, but not essential.

    Unfortunately, I have no availability in July, but can host again in early August.

    At other times of the year....
    Various projects: renovating community house/gardens, planting veggie plots, pimping caravan, eco-insulating studio, tiling with reclaimed tomettes, village green area maintenance...

    We live in a small rural hamlet in the Poitou-Charentes region of France. The 20 or so houses are inhabited by a fantastic mixture of characterful locals and homespun and foreign homeowners.

    The community used to host a renowned village festival and regularly won village in bloom competitions. They even renovated an old house to use as a village meeting hall (and store for the festival equipment).

    I would like to host volunteers to help repair/restore the village house with painting etc and to keep the communal areas of the village well maintained and tidy.

    In 2004, I will need assistance with planting a vegetable plot, pimping a dull caravan into a quirky guest space, insulating/tiling a studio and many more interesting projects...

    There will be plenty of opportunities to chat to locals while improving your French (you need to be outgoing to connect with them as they will not find you :-)). I am a TEFL-qualified teacher of English and love teaching, so if you need a refresher, I am more than happy to help out.

    The Gartempe River is a short distance away (less than 4km) and the area is fantastic for on and off-road cycling or walking. Roman history is abundant and the World War 2 memorial town of Oradour sur Glane is 35 minutes by car. A train stops at nearby Lathus station (4km) for trips further afield to Poitiers or Limoges. I have two bicycles for your use.

    I can host couples or two singles (who don't mind interconnecting rooms that share an en-suite bathroom).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Ability to interact with the village community and practise French with genuine and friendly locals. Practise your English while staying with your English teacher host. Relax in total tranquility and gaze at the clear and beautiful night sky. Listen to nightingales, watch owls drift silently in front of you, and breathe fresh air. Our village is a veritable haven and a great place to recharge.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help to spruce up/ maintain the village house, plant vegetables, paint shutters, pimp a caravan, help insulate an art studio etc.


    A can do attitude with an arty outlook is a bonus. Must be self motivated as I teach online, so cannot be there all the time.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am supposed to be learning French, so one hour a day of an English/French exchange would work. Also German or Polish would be useful

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Twin or double room with ensuite bathroom. Vegetarian food provided - shared cooking duties though! (( Would be happy for some days to be less hours if I did not want to cook 🤣). English TV connection and large collection of DVDs. Broadband (but not fast) internet. Smoking not encouraged but OK outside (as long as you ensure that you clean up the butts regularly (i.e. clean the ashtray daily) :-)).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The area is fantastic for cycling and walking. An extremely well funded and equipped state run outdoor activities centre is only 4km walk away on the Gartempe River. Canoeing, climbing, potholing, horse riding and circus courses are just a few of the activities offered.

    Lathus town (a short 4km cycle away) has shops and banks and a train station to either Montmorillon, Chauvigny, Limoges or Poitiers. Le Dorat is the next stop on the train line south or is a longer cycle journey away. It's a lively town with bars, market, and a cinema which regularly offers French and original language films.

    I'm happy to take you to visit local attractions (St Savin's UNESCO listed abbey for example) and love visiting charity shops.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I do have an internet connection, but it is a rural connection and, although the line is reliable, it is not fast.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    I have plenty of hard standing for campers and an electric hook up point.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 872447689245

Feedback (11)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (4.8)















Gartenarbeit und allgemeine Hilfe gebraucht in der Aveyron
Join our home in Beaumont de Lomagne, France