Lend a hand around my home, sharing good company near Loughrea, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 47 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.10.2020

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello and welcome to my profile. My name is Luisa and I live in a small village outside Loughrea town, about 45 minutes drive to the well-known city of Galway. My house is rested on a hill, surrounded by 10 acres of land with plenty of trees, birds and a river you can escape to. My mother, who is Spanish lives across the field from me, so you will be seeing a lot of her, and my son and his girlfriend who are both in their early 30’s, are around quite a bit too. My partner visits on weekends who you will meet, and how could I forget the cheekiest member of the family, Lucy. She's my four-legged furry sidekick who I love to bits.
    I work as a secretary in a local primary school not too far from my house. Outside of that I do some administrative work for the parish office and a lot of my work goes towards different art projects that I am working on.
    I am a very open-minded person, adventurous and colourful. I love trying new things and have a keen interest in traveling, which in recent years I have got to do my fair share of. My most recent trip was to New Zealand to travel around with my daughter and her partner in their van. That was one amazing experience. They have been using Workaway for the past two years and so have motivated me to finally make this profile. I have been taking exchange students into my home for as long as I can remember but I am now excited for this change with Workaway.
    -Please include the word 'sláinte' in your message to show you have read my whole profile.-
    Volunteers are sure to feel right at home here. I enjoy cooking, watching movies, spending time with my niece and nephew and sharing good conversation with good-minded people. Volunteers are welcome to share with the cooking and hopefully the clean-up too :) I am an omnivore myself but vegetarians are more than welcome. Vegans and other diets are welcome too but will have to prepare their own meals. As I am busy I cannot commit to always being able to cook but you will have access to my kitchen.
    I do enjoy having someone around the house and would hope that volunteers are not hibernating in their room outside of helping hours, but I also want volunteers to feel comfortable here and have their own private time too.
    My house is a cozy, warm and welcoming space that volunteer’s are sure to feel right at home in. Anything you need, just ask.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I can offer volunteers the chance to experience an Irish way of life. I love to cook and can share my knowledge on a vast number of Irish and Mediterranean dishes. Working in the bog is a very old tradition in Ireland. The peat which is cut and dried annually has to be turned and footed before being brought home and is used to heat homes across the country. It's an experience that few have the opportunity to try. Its hard for a few days but you will get to feast your eyes on some rugged Irish landscape. I enjoy hearing about peoples lives and sharing mine, whether its over food or a 'çuppa' tea'. Galway city is a bus ride away which was voted the International city of culture, and rightly so. It is a beautiful city, more like a big town, and is famed for being earthy and extremely welcoming. Also another town about 20 minutes away is Gort, which is home to Coole Park, a place that inspired the work of many Irish Poets.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    **Helping with horses is not part of this work away. Except for feeding and mucking out**

    The things I need help with will differ from day to day. Mucking out the horses stable will be daily need. Aside from that It could be laundry, getting fuel and lighting the fire, cleaning, organising, weeding. If you see something that needs doing, I would like for you to help to your own initiative and get it done. I have so much going on that I may not be able to cover everything.
    Speaking of laundry, I have a room for my art supplies/laundry and I would love a new set of hands to help me organise this space. It's that room that is in every house with a magnet for clutter..
    I have some beautiful horses and a handful of cows that need water and feed each day.
    During the summer months I may need some help in the bog, a massive part of our heritage, one way of getting the real 'Irish' experience. It can be hard, but it's what keeps my house warm in the winter.
    A dream of mine is to eventually have a vegetable garden. If there is anyone who has green fingers and willing to share their skills, you are more than welcome too.
    As I said the help will vary from day to day, but this will be very well communicated with you and it will always be fair.
    If a workaway wants to stay for one week, I would ask that you help a full 5 days. You will have full access to my kitchen and enjoy three meals each day.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have a double room all to yourself and possibly an ensuite if one is available during your stay. You have access to the kitchen and can feel free to help yourself. Three meals a day.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Galway city is 20 miles away and can be accessed by bus from loughrea which is the nearest town. There are some lovely places to visit there. Loughrea town has a few sites to see and some nice pubs and restaurants/cafes. Gort is the next nearest town and also has many nice places to visit including Coole park, the Kiltartan museum and Thoor Ballylee Castle is also close by. There are some nice walking paths up the mountain which is near my home and also the lake in loughrea is good for a swim during the summer.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 856426635148