Come to southern Ardeche, and help with some renovations around our 11thC Bastide , France

Country

Frankreich

aktualisiert  

Bisher 236 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.12.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our old stone house, the BASTIDE of Uzer, in the southern part of the Ardeche , was formerly a fortified castle constructed on the site of a Roman military settlement built to monitor the road to Aubenas, a large town 15 minutes north of here. The house has had a long history, including an evasion in 1584 by Protestants during the period of the Huguenot wars.
    We are both professional opera singers from Australia and New Zealand and having been living here since 2005 with our children ,Claudia 14 and Kaspar 8, golden retriever « Jazz » and cat "Jinx".
    Apart from our operatic engagements abroad, we teach singing and give concerts in our large vaulted music room downstairs.
    Our house has been a passionate renovation project for us since we moved in and thanks to the help from workaways we finished the inside last summer . We feel now it is the time to renovate our outdoor spaces..... repairing old stone out houses, landscaping around the new pool , preparations for a vegetable garden , clearing and general gardening.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As we are well experienced travellers ourselves, and enjoy exploring other countries , we would like to encourage a cultural exchange of ideas and interesting conversation.
    Living here with us would provide an opportunity to learn French , new building skills, and perhaps even a singing lesson ?
    We could also provide contact with other "workaways " in the area.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with gardening and landscaping around new swimming pool . stone wall reparations,
    Our garden too, is in need of attention, with clearing, and landscaping .

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your accomodation would consist of an extra large double bedroom ( large enough for two separate beds if required )with its separate entrance and private bathroom .
    Wifi and all comforts would be provided.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We look forward to sharing with you the beautiful region of the Ardeche. With its RIVERS and famous GORGES for canoeing and swimming ; CAVES for exploring and canyoning ( incl the famous UNESCO GROTTE CHAUVET only 24 km away) ; CLIFFS for rock climbing and via ferrata ( we have the equipment) ; BIKE and WALKING TRAILS to villages like Balazuc, Labeaume ,Vogüé ,and Largentiere, ranked "most beautiful villages of France" , passing vineyards, olive groves and rivers ; vibrant MARKETS everyday of the week ; WINERIES ( we know many of the local winemakers ).
    Our village UZER , is an hour and a half drive to the popular southern towns of AVIGNON, MONTPELLIER and NIMES... All accessible also by TGV services from MONTELIMAR or VALENCE.
    We have good VTT bikes and a car for use, and enough french to help out when needed!
    Life in the Ardeche is a celebration of the natural environment- it's beauty.
    Life here is relaxing but there is always something to discover.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 496143964657