Small mixed quinta near Serra da Estrela with permaculture, reforestation, camping and building projects

Country

Portugal

aktualisiert  

Bisher 141 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.10.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    124

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Currently seeking people with their own camper van to stay here longer term in exchange to help maintain the quinta, terms to be negotiated depending on your needs and ours*️️️️️️

    We are in the process of setting up our quinta for self-sufficiency, we would also eventually like to produce enough food to exchange or sell locally. We are creating growing spaces based on the ideas of synergistic gardening among other designs using Permaculture principles in setting up all systems. We are lucky enough to already have lots of existing fruit trees and olives as well as nuts so we already have a head start on food production. The woodlands around us burned in the fires of October 2017 so we need help with tree planting.

    We are also in the process of rebuilding the barn into a house so this is another exciting project. Other building projects we need help with are setting up animal housing for chickens and sheep, we would also like to build some small wildlife ponds and rock beds.

    A bit about us - Leah is passionate about food and soil, loves animals and working with nature. Andre is a skilled tree surgeon and we are both keen to be part of reforesting our local area with native species. Andre is Portuguese and grew up in this area but lived in the UK for 11 years, me (Leah) I am English, after some visits over the last few years we decided to start a new life here in Portugal. We have friends around, a good mix of people from all over the world. We are early 30's but welcome people of all ages and backgrounds.

    Check out the photos at the bottom of this page to get a feel of what its like here and we have some photos of trips out that we regularly do such as Tabua market and mountains, lakes and river beaches.

    Our quinta is on the edge of a well populated village so you will have good opportunity to learn some of the language and experience the local culture.

    We are a friendly and sociable couple who like to have a good chat and entertain but also enjoy having a peaceful space to relax in, you will experience being part of a traditional Portuguese community so have the opportunity to learn some of the language, you will also meet other like minded friends and see other similar projects, visiting beautiful local sites and going on some adventures.

    We are living outdoors and off grid so you must be happy with this very basic lifestyle. We are camping and you will be in a tent, we have a compost toilet which is only for poops so you must be happy to wee in the woods.

    Campervans, couples, dogs and friend groups also welcome.

    UPDATE: We have just had our first baby born in February so this has delayed some of our projects but we are keen to get back to it. We no longer live there but will move back as soon as we can get the house completed. We took the solar and camp kitchen down but if there is anyone who wants to stay longer term then we can get this back up. If you want to stay shorter term then we have accommodation at my mums quintal, she has some gardening jobs, a bread oven to build and we would do day trips to work at our quinta a couple of times a week. So this would be a shared workaway experience between us and my mum.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We can offer you experience in sustainable ways of growing food, knowledge of soil and plant health, cooking tasty meals with fresh seasonal produce, caring for animals, how to safely use tools including a chainsaw (optional), visiting beautiful places and being part of the local community, tasting Portuguese life authentically and meeting people from all over the world.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with setting up more growing spaces, animal housing, some help with building our house. We will eventually have animals to help care for.
    On top of the quinta tasks we also expect guests to take on their fair share of tasks such as cooking and domestic duties. We expect guests to be clean, tidy and mindful of others space.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and Portuguese

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Camping in tents for now,
    We have a large tent with 3 seperate sleeping compartments which is mixed dorm, we also have a smaller tent which could fit a couple in case anyone prefers to be more private.
    We are living in our van until the house is ready so we have set up a temporary kitchen and basic compost toilet.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Visit local markets, see the mountains, rivers beaches, go walking and explore a beautiful area. Near by towns are Seia, Oliveira do hospital and Tabua. There is a bus from the village but we can offer lifts when we are going into town.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours 5 days per week for short term stays

Trip to the mountains in the summer
The Tabua market
A few months in and the food is growing
A trip up the mountains
Chica the pup of the quinta







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 854378873682