Help us around the house and our hobby farm in the Lake District, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 482 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.09.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Peace, tranquillity and a little madness in the Lake District, UK

    We are very lucky to live on a farm in the beautiful Lake District, just on the edge of the National Park in Cumbria; the farm dates back to the late 1600's. Over the years parts of it have been renovated and added to and some parts are looking a little sorry for themselves! My mother, myself, my sister and my 8yr old nephew live and work on the farm. We have big plans for the place in the future, however for now we could do with a little help with day-to-day living.

    We are on the outskirts of the lovely village of Cartmel which is home to a small racecourse, several very good restaurants and it is famous for it's Sticky Toffee Pudding. You can walk into the village from the farm in just under 20 minutes and there is a local grocery store and several pubs where you can meet friendly locals and visitors from all over the world. The nearest town is Kendal which is about a 20 minute drive away or you can get a bus from the next village along, Grange-over-Sands.

    The scenery here is stunning and we have a fantastic view from the farm as we sit high above the Cartmel Valley. The wonderful green pastures are down to the weather which can be sunny and dry, or wet and windy, yet both contribute to the soothing and therapeutic atmosphere of the countryside.

    We prefer volunteers to commit to staying with us for at least a month so that we can all get to know each other. We are happy to take couples, friends or individual travellers and being a relaxed yet hard working family, we like to make our guests, visitors and volunteers welcome; we very much appreciate those who can take instruction as well as carry out tasks on their own initiative, as we may not get much time to spend with you. Please note that the only animals on the farm are horses and dogs, although we let our neighbour graze his cattle and sheep on the land.

    If you love horses you'll love being around our 16 Friesians!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The Lake District is a truly beautiful part of the world and we are well placed for those wishing to explore. There is a limited bus service through the village and we are happy to drive you to the next village along where there are busses and trains you can catch to take you further afield. Grange-over-Sands is the nearest train station to us and is a 10 minute drive away.

    We only speak English I'm afraid, although we can remember the occasional sentence in French!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    1. Housekeeper:
    We’d really appreciate someone’s help with day to day cleaning, washing, making beds, organising laundry & food for us. We’d like someone to stay for a minimum of 3 months +
    Being a farm there is lots of mud that gets walked into the house along with dog hair from our two little guard dogs!

    2. Otherwise, we also look for people to help with 1 or 2 of the following:

    Gardening - we have brambles and ivy that grow through and over the beautiful dry stone walling around the farm that destroys the walls if left to grow, so your help in removing it is much appreciated. Also there are nettles and weeds that need destroying and some minor tree surgery if you're up to it and have experience.

    DIY - we have a falling down chicken shed that needs some patching up, some wooden gates that need fixing, some roofing tiles that need removing, some general painting and decorating too.

    Cooking - if you enjoy cooking you are more than welcome to help with Saturday dinner times when we all get together for dinner. We have meat eaters and vegans so we cater for all.

    If you're experienced with horses (we have lots of Friesians) there may be the opportunity to help with their care also.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We provide a static caravan that sleeps up to 5 people. There is a seating area, shower and toilet and cooking facilities. We also have a touring caravan suitable for a couple so you will be in either and sharing with others. During the coronavirus pandemic we aim to provide a safe and sanitised working and living environment and you will be working independently for at lest the first 7 days.

    We provide basic food for you to cook in the caravan and once a week we'll invite you to join us for dinner and breakfast. 2 of us are vegan and 2 are meat eaters so we cater for all tastes. We also provide all bed linen and use of the washing machine & tumble dryer and it is worth mentioning that being on a working farm it can be very muddy, so sturdy footwear, water proofs and gloves are a must if working outside! We do have unlimited broadband (although a little slow at times) in the farmhouse which you are welcome to use - there isn't any internet access in the caravans.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️If you are a traveller from outside the EU please check the UK Visa requirements. Volunteering is considered Working in the UK and therefore you may need a Work Visa. This is something you will need to organise yourself*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️

    We only invite those who are trustworthy, reliable, willing to get stuck in and positive in everything they do - life is too short to be miserable. Saying that, we are happy to encourage those looking to improve their take on the world and those who may need a little encouragement in coming out of themselves. When contacting us please give as many details about yourself as you can along with any relevant experience you have had. It will be useful to know what you would like to achieve during your visit and why you would like to come and stay with us specifically.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Minimum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Static Caravan sitting room with view
Static Caravan kitchen
The Farm
The ever-changing landscape
The Farm
Static Caravan
Stunning Views of The Lake District National Park
1 of many Friesian horses on the farm
Grade II barns
Beautiful views all around
The Farm, Cartmel

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 833414887292